手术

普通外科和外科亚专业

 

当治疗失败或紧急情况发生时,拿骚大学医学中心的NuHealth董事会认证的外科人员随时可以进行干预。 我们的主治医师在所有主要外科学科中实践,并且在急诊和创伤外科以及常规和复杂的非紧急外科手术方面经验丰富。 只要有可能,我们就使用微创(也称为腹腔镜)手术技术。 使用小切口和专用手术器械进行手术,以减少与开放手术相关的风险和恢复时间。 NuHealth的外科医生将与您的医生或专科医生密切合作,最重要的是与您和您的家人紧密合作,以确保您得到最佳的护理。 在决定您的个性化治疗计划之前,我们将花一些时间充分解释所有治疗方案。

最重要的是,拿骚大学医学中心外科系的成员都知道,外科手术对于患者和亲人都是可怕的经历。 我们的目标是在确保最佳患者体验的同时,提供出色的手术治疗。

NUMC配备有:

  • 十二间设备齐全的手术室
  • 最先进的麻醉学和手术室管理。
  • 由NuHealth的外科医生与我们的医院医师共同管理的术后护理,他们是专职医生,其唯一职责是确保您在拿骚大学医学中心期间的护理和安全
  • 拿骚县唯一的高压室,该设施在治疗非愈合伤口方面起着至关重要的作用
  • 拥有XNUMX张病床的外科和创伤重症监护室,完全由接受过外科重症监护培训的外科医生负责。
  • 为需要额外护理的患者提供六个病床的外科手术后急症室。

我们的使命宣言:

培养具有出色医学知识,专家技术技能和良好临床判断力的人文外科医生,他们致力于终身学习和研究。

我们的愿景声明:

成为患者护理,外科培训和研究方面的卓越中心。

 

主席的话:

拿骚大学医学中心(NUMC)是拥有400张病床的三级护理中心,提供全套的手术

为我们社区的患者提供服务和治疗选择。 我们的案件范围从常规案件到最复杂的案件。 我们是一支敬业的医师团队,具有丰富的外科和研究经验,并在外科患者管理方面提供最先进的技术。 我们的服务包括创伤/急性护理普外科,胸外科,泌尿外科,减肥和微创外科,结肠和直肠外科,足病学,血管和血管内外科,神经外科,整形外科,烧伤,乳腺外科,高压医学和整形外科。 1998年,NUMC是长岛上第一个建立有组织的多学科计划来管理病态肥胖的机构,我们将继续使用现代的微创技术为该人群提供服务。 我们还是该地区唯一的烧伤中心,不仅提供整形外科住院医师服务,还提供烧伤奖学金。 2016年,我们被美国外科医生学院创伤委员会指定为1级创伤中心。 在此之前的26年中,从1990年到2016年,NUMC是纽约州认证的1级创伤中心。 我们每年通常会看到1300至1500例重伤最严重的患者,我们的教员在处理外伤方面非常熟练。 尽管80%的病例涉及复杂的钝性创伤,但相当多的病例还涉及穿透性损伤。 NUMC提供的外科手术服务由多处高压舱提供,用于处理复杂伤口,一氧化碳中毒和其他需要高压疗法的情况。 我们的高压室具有多室和单室功能。 我们也为我们为老年患者提供的先进的多学科护理而感到自豪,并基于当前的研究致力于在老年患者的管理方面做出重大贡献。

教育是我们在NUMC的使命的核心,我们坚定地致力于培养下一代外科手术负责人。 自1969年以来,我们的普通外科住院医师计划就已经获得ACGME的认可。我们的外科住院医师在常规手术,微创手术,血管内手术和临床实践方面接受了广泛的培训,而我们的模拟实验室则为住院医师提供了培训,使住院医师可以提高自己在外科手术中的技能。最新的手术技术。 大多数人都在各种亚专业中从事研究金培训,包括血管外科,整形外科,创伤和重症监护,心胸外科,内分泌外科,MIS,头颈外科,结肠和直肠外科以及肿瘤外科。 我们为我们计划的毕业生感到自豪,他们现在是各自领域的领导者。 我们在教师和居民中灌输安全文化,并保持最高标准的临床表现,而高质量的患者护理是我们的重中之重。

我们期待您的来信,无论您是患者,准居民,医学生还是转诊医生。

LD George Angus医学博士,MPH,FACS

 

外科全日制系:

LD乔治·安格斯医学博士, FACS
外科主任
创伤主管

 


Venkatesh Sasthakonar,医学博士,FACS,FASMBS

外科副主任
减肥手术主任

 


Elizabeth Cirincione,医学博士,FACS,FASCRS
外科住院医师计划主任
结肠和直肠外科主任

 


理查德·巴蒂斯塔(Richard Batista),医学博士,FACS

普通和血管外科

 


FACS FCPP的医学博士Jody C.DiGiacomo
外科重症监护室主任
老年外科主任
创伤副主任

 


埃德温·冈萨雷斯(Edwin Gonzalez),医学博士,FACS

普外科和乳房外科
学生文员主任

 


A
na第nRamanathan,MBBS,MS,FRCS,FRACS(Gen Surg),FRACS(血管),RPVI,FSVS
血管外科主任
血管实验室主任

 


FACS医学博士Kelley Sookraj
普通和创伤/重症监护手术

 

中级提供商

减肥手术R-PA杰拉尔德·奥古斯丁

Anand Kumar,R-PA,普通外科和创伤外科

Christina Fkiaras,R-PA,NS / GU / ENT手术

Joel Watson,R-PA,NS / GU / ENT手术

吉哈内·圣皮耶尔(NP),普通外科

 

部门管理员:

莫琳·哈钦(Maureen Hutcheon),LMSW,MPA
外科,骨科和麻醉科主任
办公室-516-572-6703

我拥有超过36年的医疗保健经验,并且已经在外科部工作了五年。 管理角色是多方面的,但是我角色中最重要的方面是患者的经历。 我们努力提供最高的患者护理标准和质量,以确保您的住宿愉快。 我们期待您的反馈,以便我们能够不断地确定需要改进的地方,以保持我们对提供最佳医疗服务的承诺。

我与手术部主席Lambros Angus博士密切合作,不断评估和招募涵盖所有外科亚专业的临床医生,包括医师,中级医疗服务提供者,创伤计划工作人员和办公室工作人员。 拿骚大学医学中心是公务员的雇主,该部门内的所有雇用人员都必须经过拿骚县公务员制度委员会的批准。 您可以通过以下方式在网站上申请 nassaucivilservice.com.

我们为我们的外科住院计划感到自豪,我与住院计划主任Elizabeth Cirincione博士以及住院医师Christine Barbou紧密合作,以确保该计划拥有适当的材料,为我们的居民提供丰富的学习环境。 NUMC是经过ACS认证的一级创伤中心,我们为能够为居民提供这种独特的深度实时创伤体验而感到自豪。

 

其他重要信息(常见问题)

设施/医疗地板

住院部负责为住院医师教学服务的患者提供50张临床床位。 这些数目是灵活的,并且可以根据需要增加。 有一个12套手术室,每年进行2,000多次常规手术。 在同一时期,医院活跃的急诊科可处理85,000多例患者。

无创血管实验室

该部门的非侵入性血管实验室采用了非侵入性技术来诊断和评估周围血管疾病。 该设施由血管外科服务处处长监督,并由专职协调员进行培训,培训人员接受了鉴定和评估动脉和静脉病变所需的精密仪器。 多普勒,超声,实时B型扫描,体积描记和阻抗设备可用于提供有关血管紊乱的部位和程度的准确数据。 分配给血管服务的居民熟练运用非侵入性方法来协助患者选择进行血管重建手术并评估血液动力学结果。

肿瘤登记处

医院拥有人员配备齐全,组织良好的计算机化肿瘤注册中心,用于数据输入,后续检索和癌症病例分析。 对赘生性疾病特别感兴趣的人会发现,这是平衡,全面的癌症计划的关键。

创伤登记处

该部门为拿骚大学医学中心(Nassau University Medical Center)所见的所有重大创伤患者建立了计算机注册表。 这样可以轻松评估我们对这些患者的治疗效率,并有助于准备临床论文。

Surgery

General Surgery and Surgical Sub-specialties

 

When medical treatments fail or emergencies occur, NuHealth’s board-certified surgical staff at the Nassau University Medical Center is ready to intervene. Our attending surgeons practice in all of the major surgical disciplines and are highly experienced at emergency and trauma surgery, as well as both routine and complex non-emergent surgery. Whenever possible, we use minimally invasive (also called laparoscopic) surgical techniques.  Procedures are performed using small incisions and specialized surgical instruments to reduce the risks and recovery time associated with open surgery. NuHealth’s surgeons will work closely with your medical doctor or specialist and, most importantly, with you and your family to ensure you receive the best possible care. We will take time to fully explain all treatment options before we decide on your personalized treatment plan.

Above all, the members of the Department of Surgery at Nassau University Medical Center understand that surgery is a frightening experience for patients and loved ones alike. Our goal is to provide outstanding surgical treatment while ensuring the best possible patient experience.

NUMC is equipped with:

  • Twelve fully equipped operating suites
  • State-of-the-art anesthesiology and operating-room management.
  • Post-surgical care managed by NuHealth’s surgeons in conjunction with our hospitalists, who are specialized physicians whose sole responsibility is ensuring your care and safety during your stay at Nassau University Medical Center
  • Nassau County’s only hyperbaric chamber, a facility that plays a critical role in the treatment of non-healing wounds
  • An eleven-bed Surgical and Trauma Intensive Care Unit, run entirely by surgeons trained in Surgical Critical Care.
  • A six-bed Surgical Post-Acute Unit for our patients who require extra nursing care.

Our Mission Statement:

To train humane surgeons with excellent medical knowledge, expert technical skills and sound clinical judgment who are committed to life-long learning and research.

Our Vision Statement:

To be a center of excellence in patient care, surgical training and research.

 

Message from the Chair:

The Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC) is a 400 bed tertiary care center which offers a complete range of surgica

l services and treatment options for the patients in our community.  Our cases range from the routine to the most complex of cases. We are a dedicated team of physicians with vast surgical and research experience and offer cutting edge technology in the management of the surgical patient. Our services include trauma/acute care general surgery, thoracic surgery, urologic surgery, bariatric and minimally invasive surgery, colon and rectal surgery, podiatry, vascular and endovascular surgery, neurosurgery, plastic surgery, Burns, breast surgery, hyperbaric medicine and orthopedic surgery.  In 1998, NUMC was the first institution on Long Island to establish an organized multidisciplinary program for the management of morbid obesity and we continue to service this population using modern minimally invasive techniques.  We are also the only burn center in the region and offer not only a plastic surgery residency but a burn fellowship as well.  In 2016 we were designated by the American College of Surgeons Committee on trauma as a Level 1 trauma center. For 26 years prior to that, from 1990 to 2016, NUMC was a New York State certified level 1 trauma center.  We routinely see 1300-1500 cases per year of the most critically injured patients and our faculty is highly skilled in the management of traumatic injuries.  Although 80% of cases involve complex blunt trauma, a significant number involve penetrating injuries as well. The surgical services provided at NUMC are supported by a multi-place hyperbaric chamber for the management of complex wounds, carbon monoxide poisoning and other conditions requiring hyperbaric therapy. Our hyperbaric chamber has both multi-chamber and single-chamber capability. We are also proud of the cutting edge multidisciplinary care we provide for our elderly patients and we are committed to making significant contributions in the management of the elderly patient based on current research.

Education is at the core of our mission at NUMC and we have a strong commitment to prepare the next generation of surgical leaders.  Our General Surgery Residency Program has been accredited by the ACGME since 1969.  Our surgical residents receive a wide range of training in conventional operative surgery, minimally invasive surgery, endovascular surgery and clinical practice is supplemented by our simulation lab where residents enhance their skills in the latest surgical techniques.  Most have pursued fellowship training in various subspecialties that include vascular surgery, plastic surgery, trauma and critical care, cardiothoracic surgery, endocrine surgery, MIS, head and neck surgery, colon and rectal surgery as well as oncologic surgery.  We are proud of the graduates from our program who are now leaders in their field. We instill a culture of safety among our faculty and residents and maintain the highest standard of clinical performance where quality patient care is our top priority.

We look forward to hear from you whether you are a patient, prospective resident, medical student or referring physician.

L.D. George Angus MD, MPH, FACS

 

Department of Surgery Full-time Faculty:

L.D. George Angus MD, MPH, FACS
Chairman, Department of Surgery
Director of Trauma

Venkatesh Sasthakonar, MD, FACS, FASMBS
Vice Chairman, Department of Surgery
Director of Bariatric Surgery

Elizabeth Cirincione, MD, FACS, FASCRS
Surgical Residency Program Director
Director of Colon and Rectal Surgery

Richard Batista, MD, FACS
General and Vascular Surgery Attending

Jody C. DiGiacomo, M.D., FACS FCPP
Director, Surgical Critical Care
Director, Geriatric Surgery
Associate Director of Trauma

Edwin Gonzalez, MD, FACS
General and Breast Surgery Attending
Student Clerkship Director

Sameer Gupta, MD, FACS
General and Trauma/Critical Care Surgery Attending

Anantha Ramanathan, MBBS, MS, FRCS, FRACS (Gen Surg), FRACS (Vascular), RPVI, FSVS 
Director Vascular Surgery
Director Vascular Lab

Kelley Sookraj, MD, FACS
General and Trauma/Critical Care Surgery Attending

Mid-level Providers:

Gerald Augustin, R-PA, Bariatric Surgery

Anand Kumar, R-PA, General and Trauma Surgery

Christina Fkiaras, R-PA, NS/GU/ENT Surgery

Joel Watson, R-PA, NS/GU/ENT Surgery

Jihane Saint-pierre, NP, General Surgery

 

Department Administrator:

Maureen Hutcheon, LMSW, MPA
Administrator, Surgery, Orthopedics and Anesthesia
Office- 516-572-6703

I have over 36 years of healthcare experience and have been with the Department of Surgery for five years.    The administrative role is multifaceted, but the most important aspect of my role is the patient experience.    We strive to provide the highest patient care standard and quality to ensure that your stay is a positive one.    We look forward to your feedback so we can continually identify areas of improvement in order to maintain our commitment to provide the best medical care possible.

I work closely with Dr. Lambros Angus, Chairman, Department of Surgery, to continually assess and recruit clinicians to cover all of the surgical subspecialties, including physicians, mid-level providers,  trauma program staff and office staff.   Nassau University Medical Center is a civil service employer and all hires within the department must be approved by the Nassau County Civil Service Commission.  You can apply on the website by going to nassaucivilservice.com.

We are proud of our surgical residency program and I work closely with Dr. Elizabeth Cirincione, Residency Program Director and Christine Barbou, Residency Administrator to ensure this program has the proper materials to provide a rich learning environment for our residents.    NUMC is an ACS verified Level I Trauma Center and we take pride in our ability to provide our residents with this unique in depth real time trauma experience.

 

Other Important Information (FAQ)

Facility/Medical Floors

The Department of Surgery is responsible for 50 clinical beds for patients on the Residency Teaching Services. These numbers are flexible, and may be increased as the need arises. There is a 12-suite operating area where more than 2,000 general surgical procedures are performed annually. In the same period, the hospital’s active Emergency Department handles more than 85,000 patient visits.

Non-Invasive Vascular Laboratory

Non-invasive techniques for diagnosis and evaluation of peripheral vascular disease are performed in the Department’s Non-Invasive Vascular Laboratory. This facility is supervised by the Chief of the Vascular Surgical Service, assisted by a full-time coordinator trained in the sophisticated instrumentation required for identification and assessment of arterial and venous lesions. Doppler, ultrasound, real-time B-mode scanning, plethysmographic and impedance equipment are available to provide accurate data regarding the site and extent of vascular derangements. Residents assigned to the Vascular Service gain proficiency in applying non-invasive methodology to aid patient selection for vascular reconstructive surgery, and to evaluate hemodynamic results.

Tumor Registry

The Hospital has a fully staffed, well-organized, computerized Tumor Registry for data input, follow-up retrieval, and analysis of cancer cases. Individuals with special interest in neoplastic diseases will find this the key to a balanced, comprehensive cancer program.

Trauma Registry

The Department has established a computerized registry for all major trauma patients seen at the Nassau University Medical Center. This will permit easy evaluation of the efficiency of our management of these patients, and aid in the preparation of clinical papers.