جراحة عامة

الجراحة العامة والتخصصات الفرعية الجراحية

 

عندما تفشل العلاجات الطبية أو تحدث حالات طوارئ ، يكون طاقم الجراحة المعتمد من مجلس NuHealth في المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو جاهزًا للتدخل. يمارس الجراحون الحاضرون لدينا جميع التخصصات الجراحية الرئيسية ولديهم خبرة عالية في جراحة الطوارئ والرضوض ، بالإضافة إلى الجراحة الروتينية والمعقدة غير الناشئة. كلما كان ذلك ممكنًا ، نستخدم تقنيات جراحية طفيفة التوغل (وتسمى أيضًا بالمنظار). يتم تنفيذ الإجراءات باستخدام شقوق صغيرة وأدوات جراحية متخصصة لتقليل المخاطر ووقت التعافي المرتبط بالجراحة المفتوحة. سيعمل جراحو NuHealth عن كثب مع طبيبك أو أخصائي ، والأهم من ذلك ، معك ومع أسرتك لضمان حصولك على أفضل رعاية ممكنة. سنأخذ وقتًا لشرح جميع خيارات العلاج بالكامل قبل أن نقرر خطة العلاج الشخصية الخاصة بك.

قبل كل شيء ، يدرك أعضاء قسم الجراحة في المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو أن الجراحة تجربة مخيفة للمرضى والأحباء على حد سواء. هدفنا هو تقديم علاج جراحي متميز مع ضمان أفضل تجربة ممكنة للمريض.

تم تجهيز NUMC بـ:

  • اثنا عشر جناح تشغيلي مجهز بالكامل
  • أحدث التخدير وإدارة غرفة العمليات.
  • رعاية ما بعد الجراحة يديرها جراحو NuHealth بالاشتراك مع مستشفانا ، وهم أطباء متخصصون تكون مسؤوليتهم الوحيدة ضمان رعايتك وسلامتك أثناء إقامتك في المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو
  • غرفة الضغط العالي الوحيدة في مقاطعة ناسو ، وهي منشأة تلعب دورًا حاسمًا في علاج الجروح غير الشافية
  • وحدة العناية المركزة للعلاج الجراحي والجروح التي تحتوي على أحد عشر سريرًا ، ويديرها بالكامل الجراحون المدربون على العناية المركزة الجراحية.
  • وحدة جراحية لما بعد الحدة بستة أسرة لمرضانا الذين يحتاجون إلى رعاية تمريضية إضافية.

بيان مهمتنا:

لتدريب الجراحين الإنسانيين ذوي المعرفة الطبية الممتازة والمهارات التقنية الخبيرة والحكم السريري السليم الملتزمين بالتعلم والبحث مدى الحياة.

بيان رؤيتنا:

أن نكون مركزًا متميزًا في رعاية المرضى والتدريب والبحث الجراحي.

 

رسالة من الرئيس:

المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو (NUMC) هو مركز رعاية ثالثية بسعة 400 سرير يوفر مجموعة كاملة من العمليات الجراحية

ل الخدمات وخيارات العلاج للمرضى في مجتمعنا. تتراوح حالاتنا من الروتين إلى الحالات الأكثر تعقيدًا. نحن فريق متخصص من الأطباء ذوي الخبرة الجراحية والبحثية الواسعة ونقدم أحدث التقنيات في إدارة المريض الجراحي. تشمل خدماتنا الجراحة العامة للرضوض / الرعاية الحادة ، وجراحة الصدر ، وجراحة المسالك البولية ، وجراحة السمنة والجراحة طفيفة التوغل ، وجراحة القولون والمستقيم ، وطب الأرجل ، وجراحة الأوعية الدموية والأوعية الدموية الداخلية ، وجراحة الأعصاب ، والجراحة التجميلية ، والحروق ، وجراحة الثدي ، والطب الضغط العالي وجراحة العظام. في عام 1998 ، كان NUMC أول مؤسسة في لونغ آيلاند تؤسس برنامجًا منظمًا متعدد التخصصات لإدارة السمنة المرضية ونستمر في خدمة هؤلاء السكان باستخدام تقنيات حديثة ذات الحد الأدنى من التدخل الجراحي. نحن أيضًا المركز الوحيد للحروق في المنطقة ولا نقدم فقط الإقامة في الجراحة التجميلية ولكن أيضًا زمالة الحروق. في عام 2016 ، تم تعييننا من قبل لجنة الجراحين الأمريكية للرضوض كمركز للصدمات من المستوى الأول. لمدة 1 عامًا قبل ذلك ، من عام 26 إلى عام 1990 ، كان NUMC مركز صدمات من المستوى الأول معتمد من ولاية نيويورك. نرى بشكل روتيني 2016-1 حالة سنويًا للمرضى الأكثر إصابات خطيرة ، وأعضاء هيئة التدريس لدينا يتمتعون بمهارات عالية في إدارة الإصابات الرضحية. على الرغم من أن 1300 ٪ من الحالات تنطوي على صدمة حادة معقدة ، إلا أن عددًا كبيرًا يشمل إصابات مخترقة أيضًا. يتم دعم الخدمات الجراحية المقدمة في NUMC من خلال غرفة الضغط العالي متعددة المواضع لإدارة الجروح المعقدة والتسمم بأول أكسيد الكربون والحالات الأخرى التي تتطلب العلاج بالضغط العالي. تتميز غرفة الضغط العالي لدينا بإمكانية متعددة الغرف والغرفة المفردة. نحن فخورون أيضًا بالرعاية المتطورة متعددة التخصصات التي نقدمها لمرضانا المسنين ، ونحن ملتزمون بتقديم مساهمات كبيرة في إدارة المرضى المسنين بناءً على الأبحاث الحالية.

التعليم هو جوهر مهمتنا في NUMC ولدينا التزام قوي لإعداد الجيل القادم من قادة الجراحة. تم اعتماد برنامج الإقامة للجراحة العامة لدينا من قبل ACGME منذ عام 1969. يتلقى الأطباء المقيمون لدينا مجموعة واسعة من التدريب في الجراحة الجراحية التقليدية والجراحة طفيفة التوغل وجراحة الأوعية الدموية والممارسة السريرية يتم استكمالها من خلال مختبر المحاكاة الخاص بنا حيث يعزز المقيمون مهاراتهم في أحدث التقنيات الجراحية. تابع معظمهم تدريب الزمالة في العديد من التخصصات الفرعية التي تشمل جراحة الأوعية الدموية والجراحة التجميلية والصدمات والعناية المركزة وجراحة القلب والصدر وجراحة الغدد الصماء ونظم المعلومات الإدارية وجراحة الرأس والرقبة وجراحة القولون والمستقيم بالإضافة إلى جراحة الأورام. نحن فخورون بخريجي برنامجنا الذين هم الآن قادة في مجالهم. نحن نغرس ثقافة السلامة بين أعضاء هيئة التدريس والمقيمين لدينا ونحافظ على أعلى مستوى من الأداء السريري حيث تكون رعاية المرضى عالية الجودة على رأس أولوياتنا.

نتطلع إلى الاستماع إليك سواء كنت مريضًا أو مقيمًا محتملًا أو طالبًا طبيًا أو طبيبًا مرجعيًا.

دكتوراه في الطب جورج أنجوس MD ، MPH ، FACS

 

قسم الجراحة كلية بدوام كامل:

دكتوراه في الطب جورج أنجوس MD ، MPH, FACS
رئيس قسم الجراحة
مدير الصدمة

 


فينكاتيش ساستاكونار ، دكتوراه في الطب ، FACS ، FASMBS

نائب رئيس قسم الجراحة
مدير جراحة السمنة

 


إليزابيث سيرينسيون ، دكتوراه في الطب ، FACS ، FASCRS
مدير برنامج الإقامة الجراحية
مدير جراحة القولون والمستقيم

 


جودي سي ديجياكومو ، دكتوراه في الطب ، FACS FCPP
مدير العناية المركزة الجراحية
مدير جراحة الشيخوخة
المدير المساعد للصدمة

 


إدوين جونزاليس ، دكتوراه في الطب ، FACS

الحضور العام وجراحة الثدي
مدير قسم الطلاب

 


A
naنطةa Ramanathan ، MBBS ، MS ، FRCS ، FRACS (Gen Surg) ، FRACS (Vascular) ، RPVI ، FSVS
مدير جراحة الأوعية الدموية
مدير مختبر الأوعية الدموية

 


كيلي سوراج ، دكتوراه في الطب ، FACS
حضور الجراحة العامة وجراحة الحوادث / الرعاية الحرجة

 

مقدمو المستوى المتوسط:

جيرالد أوغستين ، R-PA ، جراحة علاج البدانة

أناند كومار ، R-PA ، جراحة عامة وجراحة

كريستينا فكياراس ، جراحة R-PA ، NS / GU / ENT

جويل واتسون ، R-PA ، جراحة NS / GU / ENT

جيهان سان بيير ، NP ، جراحة عامة

 

مدير القسم:

مورين هاتشون ، LMSW ، MPA
اداري ، جراحة عظام و تخدير
مكتب- 516-572-6703

لدي أكثر من 36 عامًا من الخبرة في مجال الرعاية الصحية وعملت في قسم الجراحة لمدة خمس سنوات. إن الدور الإداري متعدد الأوجه ، لكن أهم جانب في دوري هو تجربة المريض. نحن نسعى جاهدين لتوفير أعلى معايير وجودة رعاية المرضى لضمان أن تكون إقامتك إيجابية. نتطلع إلى تلقي ملاحظاتك حتى نتمكن من تحديد مجالات التحسين باستمرار من أجل الحفاظ على التزامنا بتقديم أفضل رعاية طبية ممكنة.

أعمل بشكل وثيق مع الدكتور لامبروس أنجوس ، رئيس قسم الجراحة ، لتقييم وتعيين الأطباء باستمرار لتغطية جميع التخصصات الفرعية الجراحية ، بما في ذلك الأطباء ومقدمي الخدمات من المستوى المتوسط ​​وموظفي برنامج الصدمات وموظفي المكتب. المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو هو صاحب عمل في الخدمة المدنية ويجب أن تتم الموافقة على جميع التعيينات داخل القسم من قبل لجنة الخدمة المدنية في مقاطعة ناسو. يمكنك التقديم على الموقع بالذهاب إلى nassaucivilservice.com.

نحن فخورون ببرنامج الإقامة الجراحي لدينا وأعمل عن كثب مع الدكتورة إليزابيث سيرينسيون ، مديرة برنامج الإقامة وكريستين باربو ، مديرة الإقامة لضمان أن هذا البرنامج يحتوي على المواد المناسبة لتوفير بيئة تعليمية غنية للمقيمين لدينا. NUMC هو مركز صدمات من المستوى الأول معتمد من ACS ونحن نفخر بقدرتنا على تزويد سكاننا بتجربة الصدمة الفريدة في الوقت الفعلي.

 

معلومات مهمة أخرى (FAQ)

مرفق / أرضيات طبية

قسم الجراحة مسؤول عن 50 سريراً سريرياً للمرضى في خدمات تدريس الإقامة. هذه الأرقام مرنة ، ويمكن زيادتها حسب الحاجة. توجد منطقة عمليات بها 12 جناحًا حيث يتم إجراء أكثر من 2,000 عملية جراحية عامة سنويًا. في نفس الفترة ، يتعامل قسم الطوارئ النشط بالمستشفى مع أكثر من 85,000 زيارة مريض.

مختبر الأوعية الدموية غير الغازية

يتم إجراء تقنيات غير جراحية لتشخيص وتقييم أمراض الأوعية الدموية الطرفية في مختبر الأوعية الدموية غير الغازية بالقسم. يشرف على هذا المرفق رئيس قسم جراحة الأوعية الدموية ، ويساعده منسق متفرغ مدرب على الأجهزة المتطورة اللازمة لتحديد وتقييم الآفات الشريانية والوريدية. تتوفر أجهزة دوبلر ، والموجات فوق الصوتية ، والمسح الضوئي في الوقت الحقيقي B ، ومعدات تخطيط التحجم والمعاوقة لتوفير بيانات دقيقة فيما يتعلق بالموقع ومدى تشوهات الأوعية الدموية. يكتسب المقيمون المعينون لخدمة الأوعية الدموية الكفاءة في تطبيق منهجية غير جراحية للمساعدة في اختيار المريض للجراحة الترميمية للأوعية الدموية ، ولتقييم نتائج الدورة الدموية.

تسجيل الورم

يحتوي المستشفى على سجل أورام يعمل بكامل طاقته ومنظم بشكل جيد ومحوسب لإدخال البيانات ومتابعة استرجاعها وتحليل حالات السرطان. سيجد الأفراد الذين لديهم اهتمام خاص بأمراض الأورام هذا المفتاح لبرنامج متوازن وشامل للسرطان.

سجل الصدمات

أنشأ القسم سجلاً محوسبًا لجميع مرضى الصدمات الرئيسية الذين تمت مشاهدتهم في المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو. وهذا سيسمح بتقييم سهل لكفاءة إدارتنا لهؤلاء المرضى ، ويساعد في إعداد الأوراق السريرية.

Surgery

General Surgery and Surgical Sub-specialties

 

When medical treatments fail or emergencies occur, NuHealth’s board-certified surgical staff at the Nassau University Medical Center is ready to intervene. Our attending surgeons practice in all of the major surgical disciplines and are highly experienced at emergency and trauma surgery, as well as both routine and complex non-emergent surgery. Whenever possible, we use minimally invasive (also called laparoscopic) surgical techniques.  Procedures are performed using small incisions and specialized surgical instruments to reduce the risks and recovery time associated with open surgery. NuHealth’s surgeons will work closely with your medical doctor or specialist and, most importantly, with you and your family to ensure you receive the best possible care. We will take time to fully explain all treatment options before we decide on your personalized treatment plan.

Above all, the members of the Department of Surgery at Nassau University Medical Center understand that surgery is a frightening experience for patients and loved ones alike. Our goal is to provide outstanding surgical treatment while ensuring the best possible patient experience.

NUMC is equipped with:

  • Twelve fully equipped operating suites
  • State-of-the-art anesthesiology and operating-room management.
  • Post-surgical care managed by NuHealth’s surgeons in conjunction with our hospitalists, who are specialized physicians whose sole responsibility is ensuring your care and safety during your stay at Nassau University Medical Center
  • Nassau County’s only hyperbaric chamber, a facility that plays a critical role in the treatment of non-healing wounds
  • An eleven-bed Surgical and Trauma Intensive Care Unit, run entirely by surgeons trained in Surgical Critical Care.
  • A six-bed Surgical Post-Acute Unit for our patients who require extra nursing care.

Our Mission Statement:

To train humane surgeons with excellent medical knowledge, expert technical skills and sound clinical judgment who are committed to life-long learning and research.

Our Vision Statement:

To be a center of excellence in patient care, surgical training and research.

 

Message from the Chair:

The Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC) is a 400 bed tertiary care center which offers a complete range of surgica

l services and treatment options for the patients in our community.  Our cases range from the routine to the most complex of cases. We are a dedicated team of physicians with vast surgical and research experience and offer cutting edge technology in the management of the surgical patient. Our services include trauma/acute care general surgery, thoracic surgery, urologic surgery, bariatric and minimally invasive surgery, colon and rectal surgery, podiatry, vascular and endovascular surgery, neurosurgery, plastic surgery, Burns, breast surgery, hyperbaric medicine and orthopedic surgery.  In 1998, NUMC was the first institution on Long Island to establish an organized multidisciplinary program for the management of morbid obesity and we continue to service this population using modern minimally invasive techniques.  We are also the only burn center in the region and offer not only a plastic surgery residency but a burn fellowship as well.  In 2016 we were designated by the American College of Surgeons Committee on trauma as a Level 1 trauma center. For 26 years prior to that, from 1990 to 2016, NUMC was a New York State certified level 1 trauma center.  We routinely see 1300-1500 cases per year of the most critically injured patients and our faculty is highly skilled in the management of traumatic injuries.  Although 80% of cases involve complex blunt trauma, a significant number involve penetrating injuries as well. The surgical services provided at NUMC are supported by a multi-place hyperbaric chamber for the management of complex wounds, carbon monoxide poisoning and other conditions requiring hyperbaric therapy. Our hyperbaric chamber has both multi-chamber and single-chamber capability. We are also proud of the cutting edge multidisciplinary care we provide for our elderly patients and we are committed to making significant contributions in the management of the elderly patient based on current research.

Education is at the core of our mission at NUMC and we have a strong commitment to prepare the next generation of surgical leaders.  Our General Surgery Residency Program has been accredited by the ACGME since 1969.  Our surgical residents receive a wide range of training in conventional operative surgery, minimally invasive surgery, endovascular surgery and clinical practice is supplemented by our simulation lab where residents enhance their skills in the latest surgical techniques.  Most have pursued fellowship training in various subspecialties that include vascular surgery, plastic surgery, trauma and critical care, cardiothoracic surgery, endocrine surgery, MIS, head and neck surgery, colon and rectal surgery as well as oncologic surgery.  We are proud of the graduates from our program who are now leaders in their field. We instill a culture of safety among our faculty and residents and maintain the highest standard of clinical performance where quality patient care is our top priority.

We look forward to hear from you whether you are a patient, prospective resident, medical student or referring physician.

L.D. George Angus MD, MPH, FACS

 

Department of Surgery Full-time Faculty:

L.D. George Angus MD, MPH, FACS
Chairman, Department of Surgery
Director of Trauma

Venkatesh Sasthakonar, MD, FACS, FASMBS
Vice Chairman, Department of Surgery
Director of Bariatric Surgery

Elizabeth Cirincione, MD, FACS, FASCRS
Surgical Residency Program Director
Director of Colon and Rectal Surgery

Richard Batista, MD, FACS
General and Vascular Surgery Attending

Jody C. DiGiacomo, M.D., FACS FCPP
Director, Surgical Critical Care
Director, Geriatric Surgery
Associate Director of Trauma

Edwin Gonzalez, MD, FACS
General and Breast Surgery Attending
Student Clerkship Director

Sameer Gupta, MD, FACS
General and Trauma/Critical Care Surgery Attending

Anantha Ramanathan, MBBS, MS, FRCS, FRACS (Gen Surg), FRACS (Vascular), RPVI, FSVS 
Director Vascular Surgery
Director Vascular Lab

Kelley Sookraj, MD, FACS
General and Trauma/Critical Care Surgery Attending

Mid-level Providers:

Gerald Augustin, R-PA, Bariatric Surgery

Anand Kumar, R-PA, General and Trauma Surgery

Christina Fkiaras, R-PA, NS/GU/ENT Surgery

Joel Watson, R-PA, NS/GU/ENT Surgery

Jihane Saint-pierre, NP, General Surgery

 

Department Administrator:

Maureen Hutcheon, LMSW, MPA
Administrator, Surgery, Orthopedics and Anesthesia
Office- 516-572-6703

I have over 36 years of healthcare experience and have been with the Department of Surgery for five years.    The administrative role is multifaceted, but the most important aspect of my role is the patient experience.    We strive to provide the highest patient care standard and quality to ensure that your stay is a positive one.    We look forward to your feedback so we can continually identify areas of improvement in order to maintain our commitment to provide the best medical care possible.

I work closely with Dr. Lambros Angus, Chairman, Department of Surgery, to continually assess and recruit clinicians to cover all of the surgical subspecialties, including physicians, mid-level providers,  trauma program staff and office staff.   Nassau University Medical Center is a civil service employer and all hires within the department must be approved by the Nassau County Civil Service Commission.  You can apply on the website by going to nassaucivilservice.com.

We are proud of our surgical residency program and I work closely with Dr. Elizabeth Cirincione, Residency Program Director and Christine Barbou, Residency Administrator to ensure this program has the proper materials to provide a rich learning environment for our residents.    NUMC is an ACS verified Level I Trauma Center and we take pride in our ability to provide our residents with this unique in depth real time trauma experience.

 

Other Important Information (FAQ)

Facility/Medical Floors

The Department of Surgery is responsible for 50 clinical beds for patients on the Residency Teaching Services. These numbers are flexible, and may be increased as the need arises. There is a 12-suite operating area where more than 2,000 general surgical procedures are performed annually. In the same period, the hospital’s active Emergency Department handles more than 85,000 patient visits.

Non-Invasive Vascular Laboratory

Non-invasive techniques for diagnosis and evaluation of peripheral vascular disease are performed in the Department’s Non-Invasive Vascular Laboratory. This facility is supervised by the Chief of the Vascular Surgical Service, assisted by a full-time coordinator trained in the sophisticated instrumentation required for identification and assessment of arterial and venous lesions. Doppler, ultrasound, real-time B-mode scanning, plethysmographic and impedance equipment are available to provide accurate data regarding the site and extent of vascular derangements. Residents assigned to the Vascular Service gain proficiency in applying non-invasive methodology to aid patient selection for vascular reconstructive surgery, and to evaluate hemodynamic results.

Tumor Registry

The Hospital has a fully staffed, well-organized, computerized Tumor Registry for data input, follow-up retrieval, and analysis of cancer cases. Individuals with special interest in neoplastic diseases will find this the key to a balanced, comprehensive cancer program.

Trauma Registry

The Department has established a computerized registry for all major trauma patients seen at the Nassau University Medical Center. This will permit easy evaluation of the efficiency of our management of these patients, and aid in the preparation of clinical papers.