系主任

保罗·温伯格医学博士
麻醉学

Paul Weinberg 博士于 2019 年返回 NUMC,继续担任麻醉学系主任,此前他曾在 2007 年至 2010 年担任该职位。 Weinberg 博士是长岛人,以优异成绩毕业于阿尔伯特爱因斯坦医学院。心脏病学研究,随后在纽约大学医学中心从事麻醉学住院医师培训,并在阿尔伯特爱因斯坦和蒙蒂菲奥里医学中心获得心胸麻醉奖学金。 从 1988 年到 2007 年,温伯格博士是一个私人麻醉小组的合伙人,该小组为布鲁克林和皇后区的天主教医疗中心提供服务。 在此期间,他担任过多个职位,包括皇后区外科社区中心的麻醉学主任和医学主任、Mary Immaculate 医院的麻醉学和疼痛管理主任,以及 Boulevard Anesthesia Associates 的管理合伙人。 他的兴趣包括骑自行车、滑雪和阅读中世纪文学。

Amgad N. Makaryus,医学博士,FACC,FACP,FASE,FSCCT
心脏病

Amgad N. Makaryus博士于2000年在纽约州立大学下州医学中心完成了医学院的培训。他随后在纽约州曼哈西塞特的北岸大学医院完成了内科住院医师和心血管疾病研究金。 2006-2007年,纽约市哥伦比亚长老会医学中心完成了心血管成像的亚专业培训,包括超声心动图,心脏CT和心脏MRI。

Makaryus博士于2007年返回北岸大学医院(NSUH),并担任心脏CT和MRI主任(2008-2012)。 从2009年到2012年,他还担任过NSUH超声心动图实验室的负责人。Makaryus博士获得了内科医学和心脏病学委员会的认证,此外还获得了美国超声心动图委员会,核心病学认证委员会和心血管计算机断层扫描学会的认证。 。 他还完成了心脏MRI的II级培训。

他是心血管CT学会的创始成员,美国心脏病学会,美国心脏协会,美国超声心动图学会,北美心血管影像学会和美国内科医师学会的会员。 Makaryus博士在心脏病学和心血管成像领域撰写了100余篇同行评审的出版物和书籍章节。 他的研究兴趣包括将心血管成像的理想应用和集成到对患有心血管疾病和有心血管疾病风险的患者的适当诊断和管理中。

DDS的Eileen Chun
牙科与口腔外科

FAAEM FACEP总经理Anthony Boutin
急诊医学

急诊医学董事会认证的医学博士Anthony Boutin在纽约长岛新海德公园的长岛犹太医学中心完成了急诊医学的居留权。 除了住院医生和学生的教学活动外,他还拥有丰富的临床经验,担任急诊医学的内科医生,并担任多个医院委员会的行政管理人员。

Boutin博士是拿骚地区EMS理事会和医疗咨询委员会的成员,积极参与急诊医疗服务的院前护理。 自到达拿骚大学医学中心(NUMC)以来,Boutin博士已成功地监督了急诊科的成立,设计和迁移,并改善了急诊科的业务流程和护理质量。 在Boutin博士的领导下,NUMC最近获得了2012年Press Ganey最佳改善奖-急诊科的患者满意度。 此外,NUMC还获得了2011和2012年Stroke的AHA / ASA金牌奖。

Boutin博士是西奈山医学院急诊医学系的助理教授。 在他的许多协会中,Boutin博士是拿骚县警察救护车和拿骚大学医疗中心救护车部门的医疗主管。 他在长岛犹太医学中心口试委员会课程,西奈山医学中心和艾姆赫斯特医院口试委员会课程中任教。 他还是ACLS / ATLS讲师。

彼得·A·吉尼(Peter A.
家庭医学科

彼得·吉尼(Peter Guiney)博士是拿骚大学医学中心家庭医学住院医师计划主任和新成立的家庭医学系主任。 他在纽约整骨医学学院(现为纽约理工大学整骨医学学院)获得医学学位,并且毕业于圣母大学。

Guiney博士在半岛医院中心完成了家庭医学居留权。 在完成住院医师培训后,他在半岛医院急诊室担任主治医师数年。 在随后的几年中,他成为了家庭实践居住计划的主任,并在半岛医院中心担任医学教育的主任。 他在皇后区的臭氧公园私人执业超过20年,并曾在Daytop Village Inc.(一家位于皇后区的跨国戒毒所)担任医疗总监。

Guiney博士在其整个职业生涯中都在服务欠佳的社区中实习。 他仍然致力于培训家庭医学医生,以解决当前国家医师短缺的问题,并招募计划毕业生在NuHealth / LIFQHC家庭健康中心提供持续的初级保健服务。

保罗·穆斯塔奇亚(Paul Mustacchia),医学博士,FACP,工商管理硕士
医学系

Paul Mustacchia毕业于纽约州立大学布法罗医学院。 他在纽约纽约的哥伦比亚长老会医学中心完成了居留权和研究金培训。 他是一名获得董事会认证的内科医生和胃肠病学家。 在过去的9年中,他一直担任拿骚大学医学中心的首席医师和胃肠病学研究金计划主任。 他还是拿骚大学医学中心内科住院医师领导委员会医学和专业事务委员会以及质量和专业事务委员会的成员。 在过去的5年中,他担任过医学副主席,并且在过去的3年中,他还担任过医疗人员总裁。

约翰·里格斯(马里兰州)
妇产科和临时儿科主席

Riggs博士于2015年1989月加入拿骚大学医学中心,担任妇产科主任。 他最初来自新泽西州南部的哈登菲尔德。 他在华盛顿特区的乔治敦大学就读本科和医学院,并在新泽西州利文斯顿的St. Barnabas医学中心完成了妇产科住院医生的实习。 从1999年至XNUMX年,他与父亲约瑟夫(Joseph)在新泽西州哈登高地的私人诊所工作,在那里他们专门从事高级妇科手术。

父亲/合伙人退休后,里格斯博士移居纽约,并加入了布鲁克林威科夫高地医学中心的工作人员。 在接下来的15年中,他在Wyckoff担任过多个职位:妇科和泌尿妇科主任,妇女保健中心主任,OB / GYN主席,医务人员主席和医疗委员会主席。 随后,他在布鲁克林医院的普通妇产科实习了三年。 Riggs博士目前是安提瓜岛美国大学(AUA)的OB / GYN临床主席。 他还是美国医学协会,美国OB / GYN美国学院,联合医疗保健证书委员会,乔治城大学医学校友会和理事会的积极成员。 他的兴趣包括所有运动,举重和旅行。

马赛尔·莫尔科斯(马里兰州)
眼科

Marcelle M. Morcos,医学博士,FACS,是眼科系主任,也是拿骚大学医学中心住院医师培训计划的主任。 她还担任NUMC眼科学系的医学学生教育主任。

纽约州立大学石溪分校的纽约州立大学医学院眼科副教授,Morcos博士是董事会认证的,是美国眼科学院院士,也是美国外科医生学院的院士。 她毕业于埃及开罗大学医学院,并于1980年在拿骚大学医学中心完成了眼科住院医师的工作。

完成居留权后,Morcos博士在纽约州皇后区发展了非常成功的实践。 她于1999年成为NUMC眼科计划主任,并于2001年被任命为眼科部门负责人。在她的领导下,由外科部主持的这个小部门于2007年成为独立部门,她是其第一任董事长。 2011年,该部门迁入了一个全新的,最先进的眼科中心,该中心每年为11,000多名患者提供服务。

致力于患者护理和视力保护以及医学教育,Morcos博士发表了许多文章,并经常在专业会议上发表演讲。 她在国内和国际上获得了无数赞誉,并被消费者研究委员会评为美洲顶级眼科医生,以及在教学和教育领域的行政和职业女性名人录。

她于2013年被国际医疗保健专业人员协会评选为纽约州顶级眼科医生。

医学博士Charles Ruotolo
骨科

医学博士Charles Ruotolo于1995年毕业于纽约医学院的顶尖学府。他于2000年在纽约州立大学石溪分校完成了整形外科住院医师培训计划。加利福尼亚州拉古纳山(Laguna Hills)享有盛誉的体育诊所,由医学博士韦斯利·诺塔格(Wesley Nottage)指导。 在这里,他完善了自己的高级关节镜手术技能。

Ruotolo博士是整形外科的董事会认证,并且是美国整形外科医生学会的会员。 作为北美关节镜协会的关节镜副主讲师,Ruotolo博士积极教授其他骨科医生在肩部手术中的高级关节镜技术。 Ruotolo博士被提名为210名即将毕业的医学生课程中的顶级外科手术学生,并因其在Stony Brook的SUNY的骨科培训计划而被评为2003年度最佳参加者。

作为一名狂热的研究人员,他在关节镜外科杂志,肩肘外科杂志的同行评议期刊上发表了多篇有关肩部受伤和肩部手术的文章,并在同一篇文章中撰写了多篇文章。

作为拿骚大学医学中心骨科的主席,Ruotolo博士正在帮助指导医院复兴,使其成为骨科手术的领先中心。 他在NUMC培养了一支由高技能骨科医师组成的核心团队,为骨科脊柱手术,骨科创伤手术,微创关节置换手术,关节镜手术和运动医学提供最佳护理。

瑞秋·罗宾斯(Rachel Robbins),医学博士
病理学和实验室代理主席

罗宾斯博士在康奈尔大学医学院获得医学博士学位。 她在哥伦比亚长老会医学中心接受培训,包括神经病理学研究金。 此外,她分别在纽约大学医学院和关节疾病医院获得了外科病理学和骨科病理学的研究金。 她在宾夕法尼亚大学完成了本科学习,其中包括在牛津大学学习了一年。

她获得了美国解剖学和临床病理学病理学委员会的认证。 她是多篇文章的发表作者,并被任命为霍夫斯特拉大学北岸-LIJ医学院病理学系的临床助理教授。 Robbins博士曾在NUMC任职,此前他在North Shore-LIJ Health System担任病理学家长达十四年,最近在Glen Cove医院担任病理学和实验室服务主席。

Robbins博士在Glen Cove医院和北岸-LIJ卫生系统的病理学部门担任多个委员会主席,并在多个委员会中任职。

康斯坦丁·约阿努(医学博士)
精神病

Ioannou博士获得了圣乔治大学医学院的医学博士学位。 他在布鲁克林的卫理公会医院完成了内科实习,然后在纽约州立大学下州立大学完成了精神病学实习。 他在金斯县医院住院,最初是在艾滋病项目中任职,负责心理社会服务,并担任艾滋病教育和培训中心的教职员工。 在移居长岛之前,他在金斯县医院的各种公共精神病服务中承担了一系列职责,在那里他担任了格伦科夫医院药物滥用服务的医学总监。 他最终来到NUMC,曾担任精神病学部门临床服务副主席,直到搬到石溪大学医院担任一般精神病学住院医师培训主任。

除了在公共部门精神病学方面的工作以及与SPMI人群的合作之外,他还对心理动力心理治疗保持了兴趣,并且是CJ Jung研究所的成员,并且已经完成了以含义为中心的心理治疗方面的培训。 他教拿骚大学医学中心和石溪精神病患者。 他还指导精神科住院医师提供以见解为导向的心理治疗和支持性表达性心理治疗。 他是美国石溪大学精神病学的临床助理教授,并在许多会议上作了演讲,重点是伦理学,精神卫生系统的历史背景和美国的鸦片使用历史。

医学博士史蒂文·列夫
放射线学

史蒂文·列夫(Steven Lev)博士最初来自布鲁克林,毕业于普林斯顿大学,并以优异的成绩获得了化学学士学位。 1988年,他在西奈山医学院完成了医学院的培训; 随后在Lennox Hill医院接受内科实习期。 他继续在纽约的Beth Israel医学中心完成诊断放射学的居留权,并在波士顿的塔夫茨大学医学院的新英格兰医学中心完成了神经放射学的研究金。

列夫博士于1995年加入拿骚大学医学中心(NUMC),担任神经放射学主任。 他于2020年晋升为放射学主席,之前曾担任该部门的代理副主席和代理主席。 列夫博士被任命为石溪布鲁克文艺复兴学院临床放射学副教授。

列夫博士在NUMC的多个委员会任职,包括辐射安全和信息学。 从2011年到2012年,他是NUMC医务人员的一般会员。他还是长岛放射学会(LIRS)的执行委员会成员,于2018年担任该委员会的主席。他共同领导质量该计划已被NUMC放射学部门采用,并实施了重要的安全和患者护理计划,例如有关中风护理和创伤的计划。

列夫博士致力于学生和居民的培训和教育,并兼任学术事务委员会主任和放射医学学生课程主任。 他具有广泛的研究兴趣; 展示了120多个展览和口头演讲,并获得了无数赞誉。 他是多篇同行评审文章和电子出版物的发表作者,并且还是《美国放射学杂志》(AJNR)和《英国放射学杂志》(BJR)的期刊审稿人。

他还是一位艺术家和一名摄影师。 他喜欢举重,健身和耐力运动。

LD George Angus,医学博士,MPH,FACS
手术

LD George Angus医学博士,MPH,FACS毕业于福特汉姆大学。 在大学学习后,他从事医学事业,并毕业于阿尔伯特·爱因斯坦医学院。 医学院毕业后,他在长岛犹太医疗中心完成了外科手术,随后在马里兰州巴尔的摩的马里兰紧急医疗服务研究所(休克创伤中心)获得了创伤/重症监护奖学金。

他是纽约州立大学石溪分校的外科副教授,自1996年以来一直担任NUMC创伤部主任。1998年,他在长岛建立了长岛外科减肥中心,以帮助那些病态肥胖的人。 这是长岛同类研究中第一个此类的综合性多学科计划,同时在哥伦比亚大学获得了卫生政策与管理专业的公共卫生硕士学位。 他是许多著名组织的成员,包括东方创伤外科协会(EAST),重症医学会(SCCM)和纽约外科学会,布鲁克林外科学会和美国外科医师学会。 他还是美国外科医生学院和ATLS州立学院的研究员,还是纽约州创伤咨询委员会(STAC)的成员。

安格斯博士在钝性和穿透性创伤以及重症患者的各个方面都非常熟练,他的工作和成就获得了无数奖项和荣誉。 他在2010年被授予“医疗保健英雄”称号,以表彰他对长岛医疗保健质量的卓越奉献,承诺和贡献。 他一直是目前从事外科手术的众多外科手术住院医师的导师。 他的外科住院医师多次提名他为杰出老师,并于2011年入选《美国侯爵》。他被广泛出版,有85篇同行评议文章和书籍章节。 多年来,他一直担任外科部门的副主席,并于2020年担任主席一职,领导其外科部门进入21世纪。

Department Chairs

Paul Weinberg, MD
Anesthesiology

Amgad N. Makaryus, MD, FACC, FACP, FASE, FSCCT
Cardiology

Dr. Amgad N. Makaryus completed medical school training at the State University of New York, Downstate Medical Center, in 2000. He went on to complete his Internal Medicine residency and cardiovascular fellowship at North Shore University Hospital in Manhasset, NY. Subspecialty training in cardiovascular imaging, including echocardiography, cardiac CT and cardiac MRI, was completed in 2006-2007 at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center in New York City.

Dr. Makaryus returned to North Shore University Hospital (NSUH) in 2007, and served as director of cardiac CT and MRI (2008-2012). He was also the director of the echocardiography laboratory at NSUH from 2009 to 2012. Board-certified in internal medicine and cardiology, Dr. Makaryus additionally received certification from the National Board of Echocardiography, Certification Board of Nuclear Cardiology, and Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography. He has also completed Level II training in cardiac MRI.

He is a founding member of the Society of Cardiovascular CT, a member of the American College of Cardiology, the American Heart Association, the American Society of Echocardiography, the North American Society of Cardiovascular Imaging, and the American College of Physicians. Dr. Makaryus has authored over 100 peer-reviewed publications and book chapters in the field of cardiology and cardiovascular imaging. His research interests include the ideal application and integration of cardiovascular imaging into the appropriate diagnosis and management of patients with and at risk for cardiovascular disease.

Eileen Chun, DDS
Dental Medicine & Oral Surgery

Anthony Boutin, MD, FACEP, FAAEM
Emergency Medicine

Anthony Boutin, M.D., board-certified in Emergency Medicine, completed his residency in emergency medicine at Long Island Jewish Medical Center, New Hyde Park, Long Island, NY. He has extensive clinical experiences as a staff physician in emergency medicine, and as an administrator involved with multiple hospital committees, in addition to resident and student teaching activities.

Dr. Boutin is active in Emergency Medical Services Pre-Hospital care as a member of Nassau Regional EMS Council and Medical Advisory Board. Since his arrival at Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC), Dr. Boutin has successfully supervised the inception, design and relocation of the emergency department, and improved emergency department operations flow and quality of care. Under the leadership of Dr. Boutin, NUMC has recently received the 2012 Press Ganey Top Improver Award – Patient Satisfaction in Emergency Department. In addition, NUMC has been awarded the AHA/ASA Gold Plus designation for Stroke for 2011 and 2012.

Dr. Boutin is an assistant professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Mount Sinai School of Medicine. Among his many associations, Dr. Boutin is medical director of the Nassau County Police Ambulance and the Nassau University Medical Center Ambulance Division. He is on the faculty of Long Island Jewish Medical Center Oral Board Review Course, and Mount Sinai Medical Center and Elmhurst Hospital Oral Board Review Course. He is also an ACLS/ATLS instructor.

Peter A. Guiney, DO, FACOFP
Family Medicine

Dr. Peter Guiney serves as director of the Family Medicine Residency Program and chairman of the newly created Department of Family Medicine at Nassau University Medical Center. He earned his medical degree at the New York College of Osteopathic Medicine (now New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine), and is a graduate of the University of Notre Dame.

Dr. Guiney completed his Family Medicine Residency at Peninsula Hospital Center. After completion of his residency training, he worked as an attending physician in the Peninsula Hospital Emergency Room for several years. He became director of the Family Practice Residency Program and director of Medical Education at Peninsula Hospital Center in the years following. He practiced privately in Ozone Park, Queens, for more than 20 years, and has served as medical director at Daytop Village Inc., a multinational drug rehab facility in Queens.

Dr. Guiney has practiced in the underserved community throughout his entire professional life. He remains committed to the training of family medicine doctors to address the current national physician shortage, and recruiting program graduates for ongoing primary care service in the NuHealth/LIFQHC Family Health Centers.

Paul Mustacchia, MD, FACP, MBA
Department of Medicine

Paul Mustacchia graduated from SUNY Buffalo School of Medicine. He completed his residency and fellowship training at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center in New York, New York. He is a board-certified Internist and Gastroenterologist. For the past 9 years, he has served as Chief Physician and Gastroenterology Fellowship Program Director at Nassau University Medical Center. He is also a member of the Internal Medicine Residency Leadership Committee Medical and Professional Affairs Committee, and Quality and Professional Affairs Committee at Nassau University Medical Center. For the past 5 years, he has served as Associate Chairman of Medicine, and for the past 3 years he has also served as President of the Medical Staff.

John Riggs, MD
Obstetrics/Gynecology & Interim Pediatric Chair

Dr. Riggs joined the Nassau University Medical Center in August 2015 as chairman of the OB/GYN department. He is originally from Haddonfield, in southern New Jersey. He attended Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., for undergraduate and medical school education, and completed his residency in OB/GYN at St. Barnabas Medical Center in Livingston, New Jersey. From 1989-1999, he worked with his father, Joseph, in private practice in Haddon Heights, New Jersey, where they specialized in advanced gynecologic surgery.

After his father/partner retired, Dr. Riggs moved to NYC and joined the staff of Wyckoff Heights Medical Center in Brooklyn. Over the next 15 years, he held multiple positions at Wyckoff: director of gynecology and urogynecology, director of the women’s health center, chairman of OB/GYN, President of the medical staff, and President of the medical board. He subsequently practiced for three years at Brooklyn Hospital in general OB/GYN. Dr. Riggs is currently clinical chair of OB/GYN at the American University in Antigua (AUA). He is also an active member of the American Medical Association, American College of OB/GYN, United Healthcare credentials committee, Georgetown University medical alumni board and board of governors. His interests include all sports, weightlifting and traveling.

Marcelle Morcos, MD
Ophthalmology

Marcelle M. Morcos, MD, FACS, is the chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology, and the director of the Residency Training program at Nassau University Medical Center. She also serves as the Director of Medical Student Education for the Department of Ophthalmology at NUMC.

An Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at the State University of New York School of Medicine at Stony Brook, Dr. Morcos is board-certified and a Fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, and a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. She graduated from Cairo University Medical School in Egypt, and completed her Ophthalmology Residency at Nassau University Medical Center in 1980.

Upon completion of her residency, Dr. Morcos developed a very successful practice in Queens, NY. She became the program director of Ophthalmology at NUMC in 1999, and was named the Chief of the Division of Ophthalmology in 2001. Under her leadership, this small division under the auspices of the Department of Surgery became an independent department in 2007, of which she is its first chairman. In 2011, the Department moved into a brand-new state-of-the-art Eye Center that serves well over 11,000 patients a year.

Dedicated to patient care and vision preservation, as well as medical education, Dr. Morcos has published numerous articles, and frequently presents at professional meetings. She has received numerous accolades on a national and international level, and has been mentioned among Americas Top Ophthalmologists by Consumers Research Council, and Who’s Who in Executive and Professional Women in Teaching and Education.

She was selected as Top Ophthalmologist in NY by the International Association of Healthcare Professionals in 2013.

Charles Ruotolo, MD
Orthopedics

Charles Ruotolo, M.D., graduated among the top of New York Medical College School of Medicine in 1995. He completed an orthopedic residency program at SUNY at Stony Brook in 2000. After his residency, he underwent fellowship training in sports medicine and shoulder surgery, at the prestigious Sports Clinic of Laguna Hills in California, under the tutelage of Wesley Nottage, MD. It is here where he perfected his advanced arthroscopic surgical skills.

Dr. Ruotolo is board-certified in orthopedic surgery, and is a fellow of the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons. As an Associate Master Instructor of Arthroscopy for the Arthroscopy Association of North America, Dr. Ruotolo actively teaches other orthopedic surgeons advanced arthroscopic skills in shoulder surgery. Named the top surgical student in his graduating medical-student class of 210 students, Dr. Ruotolo was named the attending of the year in 2003 for the orthopedic training program at SUNY at Stony Brook.

As an avid researcher, he has published multiple articles on shoulder injuries and shoulder surgery in the peer review journals of Arthroscopic Surgery, and of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery, as well as several book chapters on the same.

As the chairman of the Department of Orthopedics at Nassau University Medical Center, Dr. Ruotolo is helping to guide the hospital in its revival as a leading center for orthopedic surgery. He has developed a core group of highly skilled orthopedic surgeons at NUMC, providing some of the best care in orthopedic spine surgery, orthopedic trauma surgery, minimally invasive joint-replacement surgery, arthroscopic surgery and sports medicine.

Rachel Robbins, MD
Acting Chair, Pathology & Laboratory

Dr. Robbins earned her M.D. at Cornell University Medical School. She trained at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center, including a fellowship in Neuropathology. In addition, she completed fellowships in Surgical Pathology and Orthopedic Pathology at New York University School of Medicine, and the Hospital for Joint Diseases, respectively. She completed her undergraduate studies at the University of Pennsylvania, including a year at the University of Oxford.

She is board-certified by the American Board of Pathology in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology. She is a published author of multiple articles, and holds an appointment as Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Pathology at Hofstra University North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine. Dr. Robbins arrives at NUMC having spent the previous fourteen years as a pathologist in the North Shore-LIJ Health System, most recently as Chair of Pathology and Laboratory Services at Glen Cove Hospital.

Dr. Robbins chaired several committees, and served on several others, at Glen Cove Hospital, and in the Pathology Department of the North Shore-LIJ Health System.

Constantine Ioannou, MD
Psychiatry

Dr. Ioannou earned his M.D. degree from St. Georges University School of Medicine.  He completed an Internship in Internal Medicine at The Methodist Hospital in Brooklyn, and then completed his Residency in Psychiatry at SUNY-Downstate.  He stayed on at Kings County Hospital beginning with a position in the HIV Program, where he was in charge of the Psycho-social services and as a faculty member of the AIDS Education and Training Center.  He assumed a series of responsibilities at Kings County Hospital within a variety of Public Psychiatry services before moving to Long Island, where he held the position of Medical Director of Substance Abuse Services at Glen Cove Hospital.  He eventually came to NUMC, where he was Vice Chairman of Clinical Services for the Department of Psychiatry until moving to Stony Brook University Hospital as Director of Residency Training for General Psychiatry.

In addition to his work in Public Sector psychiatry and work with the SPMI population,  he has maintained his interest in psychodynamic psychotherapy and is a member of the CJ Jung Institute and has completed training in Meaning Centered Psychotherapy.  He teaches both Nassau University Medical Center and Stony Brook psychiatric residents.  He also supervises psychiatric residents in providing insight oriented psychotherapy and supportive expressive psychotherapy. He is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at Stony Brook University and has presented at a variety of conferences with a focus on Ethics, Historical Context of the Mental Health System and the History of Opiate Use in the United States.

Steven Lev, MD
Radiology

Dr. Steven Lev is originally from Brooklyn and graduated from Princeton University, earning an A.B. with cum laude honors in chemistry. He completed his medical school training at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in 1988; followed by an internship year in Internal Medicine at Lennox Hill Hospital. He went on to complete a Residency in Diagnostic Radiology at Beth Israel Medical Center in New York, and a Fellowship in Neuroradiology at New England Medical Center Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston.

Dr. Lev joined Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC) in 1995 as Director of Neuroradiology. He was promoted to Radiology Chairman in 2020, having previously served as Acting Vice-Chair and Acting-Chair for the department. Dr. Lev holds an appointment as Associate Professor of Clinical Radiology at the Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook.

Dr. Lev serves on several NUMC committees, including Radiation Safety and Informatics.  He was a member-at-large on the NUMC Medical Staff from 2011 to 2012. He is also on the executive committee of the Long Island Radiological Society (LIRS), where he functioned as its President in 2018. He co-leads the quality program for the NUMC Radiology Department and has implemented vital safety and patient care initiatives, such as those concerning stroke care and trauma, which have been adopted by the institution.

Dr. Lev is committed to student and Resident training and education and serves as both Director of the Academic Affairs Committee and Radiology Medical Student Course Director. He has an extensive range of research interests; presenting over 120 exhibits and oral presentations and receiving numerous accolades. He is the published author of multiple peer-reviewed articles and electronic publications and he has been a Journal Reviewer for both the American Journal of Radiology (AJNR) and the British Journal of Radiology (BJR).

He is also an artist and a photographer. He enjoys weightlifting, physical fitness and endurance sports.

L.D. George Angus, MD, MPH, FACS
Surgery

L.D. George Angus MD, MPH, FACS is a graduate of Fordham University. Following his undergraduate studies, he pursued a medical career and graduated from the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Following medical school, he completed a surgical residency at the Long Island Jewish medical Center followed by a trauma/ critical care fellowship at the Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services (Shock Trauma Center) in Baltimore, Maryland.

He is an Associate Professor of Surgery at SUNY @ Stonybrook and has been the Director of Trauma at NUMC since 1996. In 1998, he established the Long Island Surgical Weight reduction center on Long Island in order to assist those morbidly obese; the first comprehensive, multidisciplinary program of its kind on Long Island , while completing a Masters in Public Health at Columbia University in Health Policy and Management. He is a member of a number of prestigious organizations including the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma ( EAST), Society of Critical Care Medicine ( SCCM) and New York Surgical Society, Brooklyn Surgical Society and American College of Surgeons. He is also a fellow of the American College of Surgeons and an ATLS State faculty as well as a member of the NY State Trauma Advisory Committee (STAC).

Dr Angus is highly skilled in all aspects of blunt and penetrating trauma and the management of the critically ill and has received numerous awards and honors for his work and accomplishments. He has been honored as a health care Hero in 2010 in recognition of exceptional dedication, commitment and contribution to the quality of health care on Long Island. He has been a mentor to a vast number of surgical residents who are currently in the practice of surgery; named outstanding teacher on numerous occasions by his surgical residents and listed in Marquis Who’s Who in America in 2011. He is extensively published with over 85 peer reviewed articles and book chapters. He has been the Vice Chair of the department of surgery for a number of years and in 2020, assumed the Chairman’s position leading his department into the 21st century.