Abteilungsleiter

Paul Weinberg, MD
Anästhesiologie

Amgad N. Makaryus, MD, FACC, FACP, FASE, FSCCT
Kardiologie

Dr. Amgad N. Makaryus absolvierte im Jahr 2000 eine medizinische Ausbildung an der State University von New York, Downstate Medical Center. Anschließend absolvierte er sein Medizinstudium und sein Stipendium für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen am North Shore University Hospital in Manhasset, NY. Das Subspezialitätstraining für kardiovaskuläre Bildgebung, einschließlich Echokardiographie, Herz-CT und Herz-MRT, wurde 2006-2007 am Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center in New York City abgeschlossen.

Dr. Makaryus kehrte 2007 an das North Shore University Hospital (NSUH) zurück und war von 2008 bis 2012 Direktor für kardiale CT und MRT. Von 2009 bis 2012 war er außerdem Direktor des Echokardiographielabors an der NSUH. Dr. Makaryus wurde vom Nationalen Vorstand für Echokardiographie, dem Zertifizierungsausschuss für Nukleare Kardiologie und der Gesellschaft für kardiovaskuläre Computertomographie zertifiziert . Er hat auch eine Ausbildung der Stufe II in kardialer MRT abgeschlossen.

Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Society of Cardiovascular CT, Mitglied des American College of Cardiology, der American Heart Association, der American Society of Echocardiography, der North American Society of Cardiovascular Imaging und des American College of Physicians. Dr. Makaryus hat über 100 von Experten begutachtete Veröffentlichungen und Buchkapitel auf dem Gebiet der Kardiologie und der kardiovaskulären Bildgebung verfasst. Seine Forschungsinteressen umfassen die ideale Anwendung und Integration der kardiovaskulären Bildgebung in die angemessene Diagnose und Behandlung von Patienten mit und mit einem Risiko für kardiovaskuläre Erkrankungen.

Eileen Chun, DDS
Zahnmedizin & Oralchirurgie

Anthony Boutin, MD, FACEP, FAAEM
Notfallmedizin

Anthony Boutin, MD, Facharzt für Notfallmedizin, absolvierte sein Studium der Notfallmedizin am Long Island Jewish Medical Center im New Hyde Park in Long Island, NY. Er verfügt über umfangreiche klinische Erfahrungen als Stabsarzt in der Notfallmedizin und als Administrator in mehreren Krankenhausausschüssen sowie in Lehrtätigkeiten für Bewohner und Studenten.

Dr. Boutin ist als Mitglied des regionalen Rettungsdienstes von Nassau und des medizinischen Beirats in der vorklinischen Notfallversorgung tätig. Seit seiner Ankunft am Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC) hat Dr. Boutin den Beginn, das Design und den Umzug der Notaufnahme erfolgreich überwacht und den Betrieb der Notaufnahme sowie die Qualität der Versorgung verbessert. Unter der Leitung von Dr. Boutin hat NUMC kürzlich den Press Ganey Top Improver Award 2012 - Patientenzufriedenheit in der Notaufnahme erhalten. Darüber hinaus wurde NUMC für 2011 und 2012 mit der AHA / ASA Gold Plus-Auszeichnung für Schlaganfall ausgezeichnet.

Dr. Boutin ist Assistenzprofessor in der Abteilung für Notfallmedizin an der Mount Sinai School of Medicine. Dr. Boutin ist unter seinen zahlreichen Vereinigungen Ärztlicher Direktor des Polizeiwagens des Landkreises Nassau und der Ambulanzabteilung des medizinischen Zentrums der Universität Nassau. Er ist Mitglied des Oral Board Review Course des Jewish Island Center in Long Island sowie des Mount Sinai Medical Center und des Oral Board Review Course des Elmhurst Hospital. Er ist auch ein ACLS / ATLS-Instruktor.

Peter A. Guiney, DO, FACOFP
Family Medicine

Dr. Peter Guiney ist Direktor des Family Medicine Residency Program und Vorsitzender der neu geschaffenen Abteilung für Familienmedizin am Nassau University Medical Center. Er erwarb seinen medizinischen Abschluss am New Yorker College für Osteopathische Medizin (heute New Yorker Institut für Technologie, College für Osteopathische Medizin) und ist Absolvent der University of Notre Dame.

Dr. Guiney absolvierte seine familienmedizinische Ausbildung im Peninsula Hospital Center. Nach Abschluss seiner Ausbildung zum Praktikanten arbeitete er mehrere Jahre als behandelnder Arzt in der Notaufnahme des Peninsula Hospital. In den folgenden Jahren wurde er Direktor des Family Practice Residency Program und Direktor der medizinischen Ausbildung am Peninsula Hospital Center. Er praktizierte mehr als 20 Jahre privat im Ozone Park in Queens und war als medizinischer Direktor bei Daytop Village Inc. tätig, einer multinationalen Drogenrehabilitationseinrichtung in Queens.

Dr. Guiney hat während seines gesamten Berufslebens in der unterversorgten Gemeinde praktiziert. Er engagiert sich weiterhin für die Ausbildung von Hausärzten, um den aktuellen nationalen Ärztemangel zu beheben, und rekrutiert Programmabsolventen für die laufende Grundversorgung in den NuHealth / LIFQHC Family Health Centers.

Paul Mustacchia, MD, FACP, MBA
Abteilung für Medizin

Paul Mustacchia absolvierte die SUNY Buffalo School of Medicine. Er absolvierte seine Ausbildung als Stipendiat am Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center in New York, New York. Er ist Internist und Gastroenterologe. In den letzten 9 Jahren war er als Chief Physician und Gastroenterology Fellowship Program Director am Nassau University Medical Center tätig. Er ist außerdem Mitglied des Ausschusses für medizinische und berufliche Angelegenheiten des Residency Leadership Committee für Innere Medizin und des Ausschusses für Qualität und berufliche Angelegenheiten des medizinischen Zentrums der Universität Nassau. In den letzten 5 Jahren war er stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Medizin und in den letzten 3 Jahren war er auch Präsident des medizinischen Personals.

John Riggs, MD
Geburtshilfe / Gynäkologie & Interim Pediatric Chair

Dr. Riggs kam im August 2015 als Vorsitzender der Gynäkologie-Abteilung zum Nassau University Medical Center. Er stammt ursprünglich aus Haddonfield im Süden von New Jersey. Er besuchte die Georgetown University in Washington, DC, um eine Grundausbildung und eine medizinische Ausbildung zu absolvieren, und absolvierte seine Residency in Gynäkologie und Geburtshilfe am St. Barnabas Medical Center in Livingston, New Jersey. Von 1989 bis 1999 arbeitete er mit seinem Vater Joseph in einer Privatpraxis in Haddon Heights, New Jersey, wo sie sich auf fortgeschrittene gynäkologische Chirurgie spezialisierten.

Nachdem sein Vater / Partner in den Ruhestand getreten war, zog Dr. Riggs nach NYC und wechselte zu den Mitarbeitern des Wyckoff Heights Medical Center in Brooklyn. In den nächsten 15 Jahren hatte er verschiedene Positionen bei Wyckoff inne: Direktor für Gynäkologie und Urogynäkologie, Direktor des Frauengesundheitszentrums, Vorsitzender von OB / GYN, Präsident des medizinischen Personals und Präsident des medizinischen Gremiums. Anschließend praktizierte er drei Jahre im Brooklyn Hospital für allgemeine Geburtshilfe / Gynäkologie. Dr. Riggs ist derzeit klinischer Lehrstuhl für Geburtshilfe / Gynäkologie an der American University in Antigua (AUA). Er ist außerdem aktives Mitglied der American Medical Association, des American College of OB / GYN, des United Healthcare Credentials Committee, des Medical Alumni Board der Georgetown University und des Board of Governors. Seine Interessen umfassen alle Sportarten, Gewichtheben und Reisen.

Marcelle Morcos, MD
Augenheilkunde

Marcelle M. Morcos, MD, FACS, ist Vorsitzende der Abteilung für Augenheilkunde und Direktorin des Residency Training-Programms am Nassau University Medical Center. Sie ist außerdem Direktorin für die Ausbildung von Medizinstudenten in der Abteilung für Augenheilkunde am NUMC.

Dr. Morcos ist außerordentlicher Professor für Augenheilkunde an der Medizinischen Fakultät der State University of New York in Stony Brook. Er ist vom Vorstand zertifiziert und Mitglied der American Academy of Ophthalmology sowie Mitglied des American College of Surgeons. Sie absolvierte die Medizinische Fakultät der Universität Kairo in Ägypten und absolvierte 1980 ihre Ophthalmologie-Ausbildung am Nassau University Medical Center.

Nach Abschluss ihres Aufenthalts entwickelte Dr. Morcos eine sehr erfolgreiche Praxis in Queens, NY. Sie wurde 1999 Programmdirektorin für Augenheilkunde am NUMC und 2001 zur Leiterin der Abteilung für Augenheilkunde ernannt. Unter ihrer Leitung wurde diese kleine Abteilung unter der Schirmherrschaft der Abteilung für Chirurgie 2007 zu einer unabhängigen Abteilung, von der sie 2011 wurde ist sein erster Vorsitzender. Im Jahr 11,000 bezog die Abteilung ein brandneues, hochmodernes Augenzentrum, das weit über XNUMX Patienten pro Jahr versorgt.

Dr. Morcos widmet sich der Patientenversorgung und der Erhaltung des Sehvermögens sowie der medizinischen Ausbildung. Er hat zahlreiche Artikel veröffentlicht und präsentiert diese regelmäßig auf Fachmeetings. Sie erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene und wurde vom Consumers Research Council unter den Top-Augenärzten Amerikas sowie von Who is Who bei Führungskräften und professionellen Frauen in Lehre und Bildung erwähnt.

Sie wurde 2013 von der International Association of Healthcare Professionals als Top Ophthalmologist in NY ausgewählt.

Charles Ruotolo, MD
Orthopädie

Charles Ruotolo, MD, schloss 1995 sein Studium an der Medizinischen Fakultät des New York Medical College ab. Im Jahr 2000 absolvierte er ein orthopädisches Residency-Programm bei SUNY in Stony Brook die renommierte Sportklinik von Laguna Hills in Kalifornien unter der Leitung von Wesley Nottage, MD. Hier perfektionierte er seine fortgeschrittenen arthroskopischen chirurgischen Fähigkeiten.

Dr. Ruotolo ist Facharzt für orthopädische Chirurgie und Mitglied der American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. Als Associate Master Instructor für Arthroskopie bei der Arthroscopy Association of North America unterrichtet Dr. Ruotolo andere orthopädische Chirurgen aktiv in fortgeschrittenen arthroskopischen Fähigkeiten in der Schulterchirurgie. Dr. Ruotolo wurde zum besten chirurgischen Studenten in seiner Medizinstudentenklasse mit 210 Studenten ernannt und 2003 zum Teilnehmer des Jahres für das orthopädische Trainingsprogramm bei SUNY in Stony Brook ernannt.

Als begeisterter Forscher hat er mehrere Artikel zu Schulterverletzungen und Schulteroperationen in den Fachzeitschriften für Arthroskopische Chirurgie und Schulter- und Ellbogenchirurgie sowie in mehreren Buchkapiteln veröffentlicht.

Als Vorsitzender der Abteilung für Orthopädie am medizinischen Zentrum der Universität Nassau unterstützt Dr. Ruotolo das Krankenhaus bei seiner Wiederbelebung als führendes Zentrum für orthopädische Chirurgie. Er hat eine Kerngruppe hochqualifizierter orthopädischer Chirurgen am NUMC aufgebaut, die einige der besten Leistungen in den Bereichen orthopädische Wirbelsäulenchirurgie, orthopädische Unfallchirurgie, minimalinvasive Gelenkersatzchirurgie, arthroskopische Chirurgie und Sportmedizin erbringen.

Rachel Robbins, MD
Stellvertretender Vorsitzender, Pathologie & Labor

Dr. Robbins erwarb ihren MD an der Cornell University Medical School. Sie absolvierte eine Ausbildung am Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center, einschließlich eines Stipendiums für Neuropathologie. Darüber hinaus absolvierte sie Stipendien für Chirurgische Pathologie und Orthopädische Pathologie an der New York University School of Medicine bzw. am Hospital for Joint Diseases. Sie schloss ihr Grundstudium an der University of Pennsylvania ab, darunter ein Jahr an der University of Oxford.

Sie ist vom American Board of Pathology für Anatomische und Klinische Pathologie vom Vorstand zertifiziert. Sie ist Autorin mehrerer Artikel und hat eine Ernennung zur klinischen Assistenzprofessorin in der Abteilung für Pathologie an der North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine der Hofstra University. Dr. Robbins kommt zu NUMC, nachdem er die letzten vierzehn Jahre als Pathologe im North Shore-LIJ-Gesundheitssystem verbracht hat, zuletzt als Lehrstuhl für Pathologie und Labordienstleistungen am Glen Cove Hospital.

Dr. Robbins war Vorsitzender mehrerer Komitees und Mitglied mehrerer anderer Komitees im Glen Cove Hospital und in der Pathologieabteilung des North Shore-LIJ Health System.

Constantine Ioannou, MD
Psychiatrie

Dr. Ioannou erwarb seinen MD-Abschluss an der St. Georges University School of Medicine. Er absolvierte ein Praktikum in Innere Medizin am Methodist Hospital in Brooklyn und anschließend sein Praktikum in Psychiatrie bei SUNY-Downstate. Er blieb im Kings County Hospital, beginnend mit einer Position im HIV-Programm, wo er für die psychosozialen Dienste verantwortlich war und als Fakultätsmitglied des AIDS Education and Training Center. Er übernahm eine Reihe von Aufgaben im Kings County Hospital im Rahmen einer Reihe von öffentlichen psychiatrischen Diensten, bevor er nach Long Island zog, wo er die Position des medizinischen Direktors für Drogenmissbrauchsdienste im Glen Cove Hospital innehatte. Er kam schließlich zu NUMC, wo er stellvertretender Vorsitzender der klinischen Dienste für die Abteilung für Psychiatrie war, bis er als Direktor des Residency Training für allgemeine Psychiatrie an das Stony Brook University Hospital wechselte.

Neben seiner Arbeit in der Psychiatrie des öffentlichen Sektors und seiner Arbeit mit der SPMI-Bevölkerung hat er sein Interesse an psychodynamischer Psychotherapie beibehalten, ist Mitglied des CJ Jung-Instituts und hat eine Ausbildung in bedeutungszentrierter Psychotherapie abgeschlossen. Er unterrichtet sowohl das Nassau University Medical Center als auch die psychiatrischen Bewohner von Stony Brook. Er beaufsichtigt auch psychiatrische Bewohner bei der Bereitstellung von einsichtsorientierter Psychotherapie und unterstützender expressiver Psychotherapie. Er ist klinischer Assistenzprofessor für Psychiatrie an der Stony Brook University und hat auf verschiedenen Konferenzen mit den Schwerpunkten Ethik, historischer Kontext des psychischen Gesundheitssystems und Geschichte des Opiatkonsums in den USA referiert.

Steven Lev, MD
Radiologie

Dr. Steven Lev stammt ursprünglich aus Brooklyn und hat an der Princeton University einen AB mit Auszeichnung in Chemie erworben. Er absolvierte 1988 seine medizinische Ausbildung an der Mount Sinai School of Medicine; gefolgt von einem Praktikumsjahr in Innere Medizin am Lennox Hill Hospital. Anschließend absolvierte er ein Praktikum in diagnostischer Radiologie am Beth Israel Medical Center in New York und ein Stipendium für Neuroradiologie am New England Medical Center der Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston.

Dr. Lev kam 1995 als Direktor für Neuroradiologie zum Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC). Er wurde 2020 zum Vorsitzenden für Radiologie befördert, nachdem er zuvor als stellvertretender Vorsitzender und stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Abteilung fungiert hatte. Dr. Lev ist Associate Professor für klinische Radiologie an der Renaissance School of Medicine in Stony Brook.

Dr. Lev ist Mitglied mehrerer NUMC-Komitees, darunter Strahlenschutz und Informatik. Von 2011 bis 2012 war er Mitglied des NUMC Medical Staff. Er ist außerdem Mitglied des Exekutivkomitees der Long Island Radiological Society (LIRS), wo er 2018 als deren Präsident fungierte. Er ist Co-Leiter der Qualitätsabteilung Programm für die NUMC-Abteilung für Radiologie und hat Initiativen zur lebenswichtigen Sicherheit und Patientenversorgung umgesetzt, beispielsweise solche zur Schlaganfallversorgung und zum Trauma, die von der Einrichtung verabschiedet wurden.

Dr. Lev engagiert sich für die Aus- und Weiterbildung von Studenten und Bewohnern und ist sowohl Direktor des Ausschusses für akademische Angelegenheiten als auch Leiter des Kurses für Medizinstudenten in der Radiologie. Er hat ein breites Spektrum an Forschungsinteressen; Präsentation von über 120 Exponaten und mündlichen Präsentationen sowie zahlreiche Auszeichnungen. Er ist der veröffentlichte Autor mehrerer von Experten begutachteter Artikel und elektronischer Veröffentlichungen und war Journal Reviewer sowohl für das American Journal of Radiology (AJNR) als auch für das British Journal of Radiology (BJR).

Er ist auch Künstler und Fotograf. Er mag Gewichtheben, körperliche Fitness und Ausdauersport.

LD George Angus, MD, MPH, FACS
Chirurgie

LD George Angus, MD, MPH, FACS ist Absolvent der Fordham University. Nach seinem Grundstudium verfolgte er eine medizinische Karriere und absolvierte das Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Nach seinem Medizinstudium absolvierte er eine chirurgische Ausbildung am Long Island Jewish Medical Center, gefolgt von einem Stipendium für Trauma / Intensivpflege am Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services (Schock-Trauma-Zentrum) in Baltimore, Maryland.

Er ist außerordentlicher Professor für Chirurgie bei SUNY @ Stonybrook und seit 1996 Direktor für Trauma bei NUMC. 1998 gründete er das Long Island Surgical Weight Reduction Center auf Long Island, um krankhaft übergewichtigen Menschen zu helfen. Das erste umfassende, multidisziplinäre Programm dieser Art auf Long Island, das an der Columbia University einen Master in Public Health in Gesundheitspolitik und -management abgeschlossen hat. Er ist Mitglied einer Reihe renommierter Organisationen, darunter der Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma (EAST), der Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) und der New York Surgical Society, der Brooklyn Surgical Society und des American College of Surgeons. Er ist außerdem Mitglied des American College of Surgeons und einer ATLS State-Fakultät sowie Mitglied des NY State Trauma Advisory Committee (STAC).

Dr. Angus ist in allen Aspekten des stumpfen und durchdringenden Traumas und des Managements schwerkranker Menschen hochqualifiziert und hat für seine Arbeit und Leistungen zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Ehrungen erhalten. Er wurde 2010 als Held des Gesundheitswesens für sein außergewöhnliches Engagement, sein Engagement und seinen Beitrag zur Qualität der Gesundheitsversorgung auf Long Island ausgezeichnet. Er war ein Mentor für eine große Anzahl von chirurgischen Bewohnern, die derzeit in der chirurgischen Praxis sind. Er wurde mehrfach von seinen chirurgischen Bewohnern als herausragender Lehrer ausgezeichnet und 2011 in Marquis Who's Who in Amerika aufgeführt. Er wird ausführlich mit über 85 von Experten begutachteten Artikeln und Buchkapiteln veröffentlicht. Er war mehrere Jahre stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Abteilung für Chirurgie und übernahm 2020 die Position des Vorsitzenden, der seine Abteilung ins 21. Jahrhundert führte.

Department Chairs

Paul Weinberg, MD
Anesthesiology

Amgad N. Makaryus, MD, FACC, FACP, FASE, FSCCT
Cardiology

Dr. Amgad N. Makaryus completed medical school training at the State University of New York, Downstate Medical Center, in 2000. He went on to complete his Internal Medicine residency and cardiovascular fellowship at North Shore University Hospital in Manhasset, NY. Subspecialty training in cardiovascular imaging, including echocardiography, cardiac CT and cardiac MRI, was completed in 2006-2007 at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center in New York City.

Dr. Makaryus returned to North Shore University Hospital (NSUH) in 2007, and served as director of cardiac CT and MRI (2008-2012). He was also the director of the echocardiography laboratory at NSUH from 2009 to 2012. Board-certified in internal medicine and cardiology, Dr. Makaryus additionally received certification from the National Board of Echocardiography, Certification Board of Nuclear Cardiology, and Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography. He has also completed Level II training in cardiac MRI.

He is a founding member of the Society of Cardiovascular CT, a member of the American College of Cardiology, the American Heart Association, the American Society of Echocardiography, the North American Society of Cardiovascular Imaging, and the American College of Physicians. Dr. Makaryus has authored over 100 peer-reviewed publications and book chapters in the field of cardiology and cardiovascular imaging. His research interests include the ideal application and integration of cardiovascular imaging into the appropriate diagnosis and management of patients with and at risk for cardiovascular disease.

Eileen Chun, DDS
Dental Medicine & Oral Surgery

Anthony Boutin, MD, FACEP, FAAEM
Emergency Medicine

Anthony Boutin, M.D., board-certified in Emergency Medicine, completed his residency in emergency medicine at Long Island Jewish Medical Center, New Hyde Park, Long Island, NY. He has extensive clinical experiences as a staff physician in emergency medicine, and as an administrator involved with multiple hospital committees, in addition to resident and student teaching activities.

Dr. Boutin is active in Emergency Medical Services Pre-Hospital care as a member of Nassau Regional EMS Council and Medical Advisory Board. Since his arrival at Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC), Dr. Boutin has successfully supervised the inception, design and relocation of the emergency department, and improved emergency department operations flow and quality of care. Under the leadership of Dr. Boutin, NUMC has recently received the 2012 Press Ganey Top Improver Award – Patient Satisfaction in Emergency Department. In addition, NUMC has been awarded the AHA/ASA Gold Plus designation for Stroke for 2011 and 2012.

Dr. Boutin is an assistant professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Mount Sinai School of Medicine. Among his many associations, Dr. Boutin is medical director of the Nassau County Police Ambulance and the Nassau University Medical Center Ambulance Division. He is on the faculty of Long Island Jewish Medical Center Oral Board Review Course, and Mount Sinai Medical Center and Elmhurst Hospital Oral Board Review Course. He is also an ACLS/ATLS instructor.

Peter A. Guiney, DO, FACOFP
Family Medicine

Dr. Peter Guiney serves as director of the Family Medicine Residency Program and chairman of the newly created Department of Family Medicine at Nassau University Medical Center. He earned his medical degree at the New York College of Osteopathic Medicine (now New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine), and is a graduate of the University of Notre Dame.

Dr. Guiney completed his Family Medicine Residency at Peninsula Hospital Center. After completion of his residency training, he worked as an attending physician in the Peninsula Hospital Emergency Room for several years. He became director of the Family Practice Residency Program and director of Medical Education at Peninsula Hospital Center in the years following. He practiced privately in Ozone Park, Queens, for more than 20 years, and has served as medical director at Daytop Village Inc., a multinational drug rehab facility in Queens.

Dr. Guiney has practiced in the underserved community throughout his entire professional life. He remains committed to the training of family medicine doctors to address the current national physician shortage, and recruiting program graduates for ongoing primary care service in the NuHealth/LIFQHC Family Health Centers.

Paul Mustacchia, MD, FACP, MBA
Department of Medicine

Paul Mustacchia graduated from SUNY Buffalo School of Medicine. He completed his residency and fellowship training at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center in New York, New York. He is a board-certified Internist and Gastroenterologist. For the past 9 years, he has served as Chief Physician and Gastroenterology Fellowship Program Director at Nassau University Medical Center. He is also a member of the Internal Medicine Residency Leadership Committee Medical and Professional Affairs Committee, and Quality and Professional Affairs Committee at Nassau University Medical Center. For the past 5 years, he has served as Associate Chairman of Medicine, and for the past 3 years he has also served as President of the Medical Staff.

John Riggs, MD
Obstetrics/Gynecology & Interim Pediatric Chair

Dr. Riggs joined the Nassau University Medical Center in August 2015 as chairman of the OB/GYN department. He is originally from Haddonfield, in southern New Jersey. He attended Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., for undergraduate and medical school education, and completed his residency in OB/GYN at St. Barnabas Medical Center in Livingston, New Jersey. From 1989-1999, he worked with his father, Joseph, in private practice in Haddon Heights, New Jersey, where they specialized in advanced gynecologic surgery.

After his father/partner retired, Dr. Riggs moved to NYC and joined the staff of Wyckoff Heights Medical Center in Brooklyn. Over the next 15 years, he held multiple positions at Wyckoff: director of gynecology and urogynecology, director of the women’s health center, chairman of OB/GYN, President of the medical staff, and President of the medical board. He subsequently practiced for three years at Brooklyn Hospital in general OB/GYN. Dr. Riggs is currently clinical chair of OB/GYN at the American University in Antigua (AUA). He is also an active member of the American Medical Association, American College of OB/GYN, United Healthcare credentials committee, Georgetown University medical alumni board and board of governors. His interests include all sports, weightlifting and traveling.

Marcelle Morcos, MD
Ophthalmology

Marcelle M. Morcos, MD, FACS, is the chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology, and the director of the Residency Training program at Nassau University Medical Center. She also serves as the Director of Medical Student Education for the Department of Ophthalmology at NUMC.

An Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at the State University of New York School of Medicine at Stony Brook, Dr. Morcos is board-certified and a Fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, and a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. She graduated from Cairo University Medical School in Egypt, and completed her Ophthalmology Residency at Nassau University Medical Center in 1980.

Upon completion of her residency, Dr. Morcos developed a very successful practice in Queens, NY. She became the program director of Ophthalmology at NUMC in 1999, and was named the Chief of the Division of Ophthalmology in 2001. Under her leadership, this small division under the auspices of the Department of Surgery became an independent department in 2007, of which she is its first chairman. In 2011, the Department moved into a brand-new state-of-the-art Eye Center that serves well over 11,000 patients a year.

Dedicated to patient care and vision preservation, as well as medical education, Dr. Morcos has published numerous articles, and frequently presents at professional meetings. She has received numerous accolades on a national and international level, and has been mentioned among Americas Top Ophthalmologists by Consumers Research Council, and Who’s Who in Executive and Professional Women in Teaching and Education.

She was selected as Top Ophthalmologist in NY by the International Association of Healthcare Professionals in 2013.

Charles Ruotolo, MD
Orthopedics

Charles Ruotolo, M.D., graduated among the top of New York Medical College School of Medicine in 1995. He completed an orthopedic residency program at SUNY at Stony Brook in 2000. After his residency, he underwent fellowship training in sports medicine and shoulder surgery, at the prestigious Sports Clinic of Laguna Hills in California, under the tutelage of Wesley Nottage, MD. It is here where he perfected his advanced arthroscopic surgical skills.

Dr. Ruotolo is board-certified in orthopedic surgery, and is a fellow of the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons. As an Associate Master Instructor of Arthroscopy for the Arthroscopy Association of North America, Dr. Ruotolo actively teaches other orthopedic surgeons advanced arthroscopic skills in shoulder surgery. Named the top surgical student in his graduating medical-student class of 210 students, Dr. Ruotolo was named the attending of the year in 2003 for the orthopedic training program at SUNY at Stony Brook.

As an avid researcher, he has published multiple articles on shoulder injuries and shoulder surgery in the peer review journals of Arthroscopic Surgery, and of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery, as well as several book chapters on the same.

As the chairman of the Department of Orthopedics at Nassau University Medical Center, Dr. Ruotolo is helping to guide the hospital in its revival as a leading center for orthopedic surgery. He has developed a core group of highly skilled orthopedic surgeons at NUMC, providing some of the best care in orthopedic spine surgery, orthopedic trauma surgery, minimally invasive joint-replacement surgery, arthroscopic surgery and sports medicine.

Rachel Robbins, MD
Acting Chair, Pathology & Laboratory

Dr. Robbins earned her M.D. at Cornell University Medical School. She trained at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center, including a fellowship in Neuropathology. In addition, she completed fellowships in Surgical Pathology and Orthopedic Pathology at New York University School of Medicine, and the Hospital for Joint Diseases, respectively. She completed her undergraduate studies at the University of Pennsylvania, including a year at the University of Oxford.

She is board-certified by the American Board of Pathology in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology. She is a published author of multiple articles, and holds an appointment as Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Pathology at Hofstra University North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine. Dr. Robbins arrives at NUMC having spent the previous fourteen years as a pathologist in the North Shore-LIJ Health System, most recently as Chair of Pathology and Laboratory Services at Glen Cove Hospital.

Dr. Robbins chaired several committees, and served on several others, at Glen Cove Hospital, and in the Pathology Department of the North Shore-LIJ Health System.

Constantine Ioannou, MD
Psychiatry

Dr. Ioannou earned his M.D. degree from St. Georges University School of Medicine.  He completed an Internship in Internal Medicine at The Methodist Hospital in Brooklyn, and then completed his Residency in Psychiatry at SUNY-Downstate.  He stayed on at Kings County Hospital beginning with a position in the HIV Program, where he was in charge of the Psycho-social services and as a faculty member of the AIDS Education and Training Center.  He assumed a series of responsibilities at Kings County Hospital within a variety of Public Psychiatry services before moving to Long Island, where he held the position of Medical Director of Substance Abuse Services at Glen Cove Hospital.  He eventually came to NUMC, where he was Vice Chairman of Clinical Services for the Department of Psychiatry until moving to Stony Brook University Hospital as Director of Residency Training for General Psychiatry.

In addition to his work in Public Sector psychiatry and work with the SPMI population,  he has maintained his interest in psychodynamic psychotherapy and is a member of the CJ Jung Institute and has completed training in Meaning Centered Psychotherapy.  He teaches both Nassau University Medical Center and Stony Brook psychiatric residents.  He also supervises psychiatric residents in providing insight oriented psychotherapy and supportive expressive psychotherapy. He is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at Stony Brook University and has presented at a variety of conferences with a focus on Ethics, Historical Context of the Mental Health System and the History of Opiate Use in the United States.

Steven Lev, MD
Radiology

Dr. Steven Lev is originally from Brooklyn and graduated from Princeton University, earning an A.B. with cum laude honors in chemistry. He completed his medical school training at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in 1988; followed by an internship year in Internal Medicine at Lennox Hill Hospital. He went on to complete a Residency in Diagnostic Radiology at Beth Israel Medical Center in New York, and a Fellowship in Neuroradiology at New England Medical Center Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston.

Dr. Lev joined Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC) in 1995 as Director of Neuroradiology. He was promoted to Radiology Chairman in 2020, having previously served as Acting Vice-Chair and Acting-Chair for the department. Dr. Lev holds an appointment as Associate Professor of Clinical Radiology at the Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook.

Dr. Lev serves on several NUMC committees, including Radiation Safety and Informatics.  He was a member-at-large on the NUMC Medical Staff from 2011 to 2012. He is also on the executive committee of the Long Island Radiological Society (LIRS), where he functioned as its President in 2018. He co-leads the quality program for the NUMC Radiology Department and has implemented vital safety and patient care initiatives, such as those concerning stroke care and trauma, which have been adopted by the institution.

Dr. Lev is committed to student and Resident training and education and serves as both Director of the Academic Affairs Committee and Radiology Medical Student Course Director. He has an extensive range of research interests; presenting over 120 exhibits and oral presentations and receiving numerous accolades. He is the published author of multiple peer-reviewed articles and electronic publications and he has been a Journal Reviewer for both the American Journal of Radiology (AJNR) and the British Journal of Radiology (BJR).

He is also an artist and a photographer. He enjoys weightlifting, physical fitness and endurance sports.

L.D. George Angus, MD, MPH, FACS
Surgery

L.D. George Angus MD, MPH, FACS is a graduate of Fordham University. Following his undergraduate studies, he pursued a medical career and graduated from the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Following medical school, he completed a surgical residency at the Long Island Jewish medical Center followed by a trauma/ critical care fellowship at the Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services (Shock Trauma Center) in Baltimore, Maryland.

He is an Associate Professor of Surgery at SUNY @ Stonybrook and has been the Director of Trauma at NUMC since 1996. In 1998, he established the Long Island Surgical Weight reduction center on Long Island in order to assist those morbidly obese; the first comprehensive, multidisciplinary program of its kind on Long Island , while completing a Masters in Public Health at Columbia University in Health Policy and Management. He is a member of a number of prestigious organizations including the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma ( EAST), Society of Critical Care Medicine ( SCCM) and New York Surgical Society, Brooklyn Surgical Society and American College of Surgeons. He is also a fellow of the American College of Surgeons and an ATLS State faculty as well as a member of the NY State Trauma Advisory Committee (STAC).

Dr Angus is highly skilled in all aspects of blunt and penetrating trauma and the management of the critically ill and has received numerous awards and honors for his work and accomplishments. He has been honored as a health care Hero in 2010 in recognition of exceptional dedication, commitment and contribution to the quality of health care on Long Island. He has been a mentor to a vast number of surgical residents who are currently in the practice of surgery; named outstanding teacher on numerous occasions by his surgical residents and listed in Marquis Who’s Who in America in 2011. He is extensively published with over 85 peer reviewed articles and book chapters. He has been the Vice Chair of the department of surgery for a number of years and in 2020, assumed the Chairman’s position leading his department into the 21st century.