كراسي القسم

بول واينبرغ ، دكتوراه في الطب
التخدير

أمجد ن. مكاريوس ، MD ، FACC ، FACP ، FASE ، FSCCT
طب القلب

أكمل د. أمجد ن. مكاريوس تدريب كلية الطب في جامعة ولاية نيويورك ، مركز داونستيت الطبي ، في عام 2000. واستكمل إتمام إقامته في الطب الباطني وزمالة القلب والأوعية الدموية في مستشفى جامعة نورث شور في مانهاست ، نيويورك. تم الانتهاء من التدريب التخصصي الفرعي في تصوير القلب والأوعية الدموية ، بما في ذلك تخطيط صدى القلب ، والتصوير المقطعي للقلب والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي للقلب ، في 2006-2007 في مركز كولومبيا الطبي المشيخي في مدينة نيويورك.

عاد الدكتور مكاريوس إلى مستشفى جامعة نورث شور (NSUH) في عام 2007 ، وشغل منصب مدير الأشعة المقطعية والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (2008-2012). كما شغل منصب مدير مختبر تخطيط صدى القلب في NSUH في الفترة من 2009 إلى 2012. كما حصل الدكتور ماكاريوس على شهادة البورد في الطب الباطني وأمراض القلب ، بالإضافة إلى شهادة من المجلس الوطني لتخطيط صدى القلب ، ومجلس شهادات أمراض القلب النووية ، وجمعية التصوير المقطعي المحوسب للقلب والأوعية الدموية. . وقد أكمل أيضًا تدريب المستوى الثاني في التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي للقلب.

وهو عضو مؤسس لجمعية القلب والأوعية الدموية CT ، وعضو في الكلية الأمريكية لأمراض القلب ، وجمعية القلب الأمريكية ، والجمعية الأمريكية لتخطيط القلب ، وجمعية أمريكا الشمالية لتصوير القلب والأوعية الدموية ، والكلية الأمريكية للأطباء. قام د. ماكاريوس بتأليف أكثر من 100 منشور وفصل كتاب تمت مراجعته من قبل الأقران في مجال أمراض القلب والتصوير القلبي الوعائي. تشمل اهتماماته البحثية التطبيق المثالي ودمج تصوير القلب والأوعية الدموية في التشخيص المناسب وإدارة المرضى الذين يعانون من أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والمعرضين لخطر الإصابة بها.

إيلين تشون ، DDS
طب الأسنان وجراحة الفم

أنتوني بوتين ، دكتوراه في الطب ، FACEP ، FAAEM
طب الطوارئ

أنتوني بوتين ، دكتوراه في الطب ، حاصل على شهادة البورد في طب الطوارئ ، أكمل إقامته في طب الطوارئ في مركز لونغ آيلاند اليهودي الطبي ، نيو هايد بارك ، لونغ آيلاند ، نيويورك. لديه خبرة إكلينيكية واسعة كطبيب عام في طب الطوارئ ، وكمسؤول مشارك في لجان المستشفيات المتعددة ، بالإضافة إلى أنشطة التدريس للمقيمين والطلاب.

ينشط الدكتور بوتين في رعاية ما قبل المستشفى لخدمات الطوارئ الطبية كعضو في مجلس EMS الإقليمي في ناسو والمجلس الاستشاري الطبي. منذ وصوله إلى المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو (NUMC) ، أشرف الدكتور بوتين بنجاح على إنشاء قسم الطوارئ وتصميمه ونقله ، وتحسين تدفق عمليات قسم الطوارئ وجودة الرعاية. تحت قيادة الدكتور Boutin ، حصل NUMC مؤخرًا على جائزة Press Ganey Top Improver لعام 2012 - رضا المرضى في قسم الطوارئ. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تم منح NUMC تعيين AHA / ASA Gold Plus لـ Stroke لعامي 2011 و 2012.

د. بوتين أستاذ مساعد بقسم طب الطوارئ بكلية الطب بجبل سيناء. من بين جمعياته العديدة ، الدكتور بوتين هو المدير الطبي لسيارات الإسعاف التابعة لشرطة مقاطعة ناسو وقسم سيارات الإسعاف التابع لجامعة ناسو الطبية. وهو عضو هيئة التدريس في دورة مراجعة المجلس الشفوي للمركز الطبي اليهودي في لونغ آيلاند ، ومركز جبل سيناء الطبي ومستشفى المهرست للمراجعة الشفوية. وهو أيضًا مدرب ACLS / ATLS.

بيتر أ. جيني ، دوك ، FACOFP
علاج العائلة

يشغل الدكتور بيتر جويني منصب مدير برنامج الإقامة في طب الأسرة ورئيس قسم طب الأسرة الذي تم إنشاؤه حديثًا في المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو. حصل على شهادته الطبية في كلية نيويورك لطب تقويم العظام (الآن معهد نيويورك للتكنولوجيا كلية طب تقويم العظام) ، وتخرج من جامعة نوتردام.

أكمل الدكتور Guiney إقامته في طب الأسرة في مركز مستشفى شبه الجزيرة. بعد الانتهاء من تدريب إقامته ، عمل كطبيب معالج في غرفة الطوارئ بمستشفى شبه الجزيرة لعدة سنوات. أصبح مدير برنامج الإقامة لممارسة الأسرة ومدير التعليم الطبي في مركز مستشفى شبه الجزيرة في السنوات التالية. مارس بشكل خاص في أوزون بارك ، كوينز ، لأكثر من 20 عامًا ، وعمل كمدير طبي في Daytop Village Inc. ، وهي منشأة متعددة الجنسيات لإعادة التأهيل في كوينز.

مارس الدكتور جويني في المجتمع الذي يعاني من نقص الخدمات طوال حياته المهنية. ولا يزال ملتزمًا بتدريب أطباء طب الأسرة لمعالجة النقص الحالي في الأطباء الوطنيين ، وتوظيف خريجي البرنامج لخدمة الرعاية الأولية المستمرة في مراكز صحة الأسرة NuHealth / LIFQHC.

بول Mustacchia ، MD ، FACP ، MBA
قسم الطب

تخرج بول موستاكيا من كلية الطب بجامعة ولاية نيويورك. أكمل تدريبه على الإقامة والزمالة في مركز كولومبيا الطبي المشيخي في نيويورك ، نيويورك. وهو طبيب باطني وأخصائي أمراض الجهاز الهضمي. على مدى السنوات التسع الماضية ، شغل منصب كبير الأطباء ومدير برنامج الزمالة في الجهاز الهضمي في المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو. وهو أيضًا عضو في لجنة قيادة الإقامة الباطنية ولجنة الشؤون الطبية والمهنية ولجنة الجودة والشؤون المهنية في المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو. على مدى السنوات الخمس الماضية ، عمل كرئيس مشارك للطب ، وخلال السنوات الثلاث الماضية عمل أيضًا كرئيس للطاقم الطبي.

جون ريجز ، دكتوراه في الطب
التوليد / أمراض النساء وكرسي الأطفال المؤقت

انضم الدكتور ريجز إلى المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو في أغسطس 2015 كرئيس لقسم أمراض النساء والتوليد. وهو في الأصل من هادونفيلد في جنوب نيو جيرسي. التحق بجامعة جورج تاون في واشنطن العاصمة لتعليم جامعي وكليات الطب ، وأكمل إقامته في OB / GYN في مركز سانت بارناباس الطبي في ليفينغستون ، نيو جيرسي. من 1989-1999 ، عمل مع والده جوزيف ، في عيادة خاصة في هادون هايتس ، نيو جيرسي ، حيث تخصصوا في جراحة أمراض النساء المتقدمة.

بعد تقاعد والده / شريكه ، انتقل الدكتور ريجز إلى مدينة نيويورك وانضم إلى طاقم مركز وايكوف هايتس الطبي في بروكلين. على مدى السنوات الخمس عشرة التالية ، شغل مناصب متعددة في ويكوف: مدير أمراض النساء وأمراض النساء ، مدير مركز صحة المرأة ، رئيس OB / GYN ، رئيس الطاقم الطبي ، ورئيس المجلس الطبي. مارس بعد ذلك لمدة ثلاث سنوات في مستشفى بروكلين بشكل عام OB / GYN. يشغل الدكتور ريجز حاليًا منصب الرئيس السريري لأمراض النساء والتوليد في الجامعة الأمريكية في أنتيغوا (AUA). وهو أيضًا عضو نشط في الجمعية الطبية الأمريكية ، والكلية الأمريكية لأمراض النساء والتوليد ، ولجنة أوراق اعتماد يونايتد هيلثكير ، ومجلس الخريجين الطبيين بجامعة جورجتاون ومجلس المحافظين. تشمل اهتماماته جميع الألعاب الرياضية ورفع الأثقال والسفر.

مارسيل مرقص ، دكتوراه في الطب
طب العيون

مارسيل م. موركوس ، دكتوراه في الطب ، FACS ، هو رئيس قسم طب وجراحة العيون ومدير برنامج التدريب على الإقامة في المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو. كما تعمل كمديرة لتعليم طلاب الطب لقسم طب العيون في NUMC.

أستاذ مشارك في طب وجراحة العيون في كلية الطب بجامعة ولاية نيويورك في ستوني بروك ، والدكتور مرقس حاصل على شهادة البورد وزميل في الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب العيون ، وزميل في الكلية الأمريكية للجراحين. تخرجت من كلية الطب بجامعة القاهرة في مصر ، وأكملت إقامتها في طب وجراحة العيون في المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو في عام 1980.

عند الانتهاء من إقامتها ، طورت الدكتورة مرقس ممارسة ناجحة للغاية في كوينز ، نيويورك. أصبحت مديرة برنامج طب وجراحة العيون في NUMC في عام 1999 ، وعُينت رئيسًا لقسم طب وجراحة العيون في عام 2001. وتحت قيادتها ، أصبح هذا القسم الصغير تحت رعاية قسم الجراحة قسمًا مستقلًا في عام 2007 ، حيث هو رئيسها الأول. في عام 2011 ، انتقل القسم إلى مركز العيون الجديد كليًا والذي يخدم أكثر من 11,000 مريض سنويًا.

مخصصًا لرعاية المرضى والحفاظ على الرؤية ، بالإضافة إلى التعليم الطبي ، نشر د. مرقص العديد من المقالات ، وكثيرًا ما يقدم في الاجتماعات المهنية. وقد تلقت العديد من الجوائز على المستويين الوطني والدولي ، وقد ذكرها كبار علماء طب العيون في الأمريكتين من قبل مجلس أبحاث المستهلكين ، ومن هو في النساء التنفيذيات والمهنيات في التدريس والتعليم.

تم اختيارها كأفضل طبيب عيون في نيويورك من قبل الرابطة الدولية لمتخصصي الرعاية الصحية في عام 2013.

تشارلز روتولو ، دكتوراه في الطب
جراحة العظام

تخرج الدكتور تشارلز روتولو من أعلى كلية الطب في كلية الطب في نيويورك في عام 1995. أكمل برنامج إقامة العظام في جامعة ولاية نيويورك في ستوني بروك في عام 2000. بعد إقامته ، خضع لتدريب الزمالة في الطب الرياضي وجراحة الكتف ، في العيادة الرياضية المرموقة في لاجونا هيلز في كاليفورنيا ، تحت وصاية ويسلي نوتاج ، دكتوراه في الطب. هنا حيث أتقن مهاراته الجراحية المتقدمة بالمنظار.

الدكتور Ruotolo حاصل على شهادة البورد في جراحة العظام ، وزميل الأكاديمية الأمريكية لجراحي العظام. بصفته مدرسًا مساعدًا مساعدًا في تنظير المفاصل في جمعية تنظير المفاصل في أمريكا الشمالية ، يقوم الدكتور Ruotolo بتدريس جراحي العظام الآخرين مهارات تنظيرية متقدمة في جراحة الكتف. حصل الدكتور Ruotolo على لقب أفضل طالب جراحة في صفه الطبي المتخرج من 210 طلاب ، وقد حصل على لقب حضور العام في عام 2003 لبرنامج تدريب العظام في جامعة ولاية نيويورك في ستوني بروك.

بصفته باحثًا نشطًا ، نشر العديد من المقالات حول إصابات الكتف وجراحة الكتف في مجلات مراجعة النظراء لجراحة المفاصل وجراحة الكتف والمرفق ، بالإضافة إلى العديد من فصول الكتب حولها.

بصفته رئيسًا لقسم جراحة العظام في المركز الطبي بجامعة ناساو ، يساعد الدكتور Ruotolo في توجيه المستشفى في إحيائه كمركز رائد لجراحة العظام. لقد طور مجموعة أساسية من جراحي العظام ذوي المهارات العالية في NUMC ، مما يوفر بعضًا من أفضل رعاية في جراحة العمود الفقري العظمي ، وجراحة إصابات العظام ، وجراحة استبدال المفاصل طفيفة التوغل ، وجراحة تنظير المفاصل والطب الرياضي.

راشيل روبينز ، دكتوراه في الطب
القائم بأعمال رئيس قسم علم الأمراض والمختبر

حصل الدكتور روبنز على شهادة الدكتوراه في الطب من كلية الطب بجامعة كورنيل. تدربت في مركز كولومبيا المشيخي الطبي ، بما في ذلك الزمالة في أمراض الأعصاب. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أكملت زمالات في علم الأمراض الجراحية وعلم أمراض العظام في كلية الطب بجامعة نيويورك ، ومستشفى أمراض المفاصل ، على التوالي. أكملت دراستها الجامعية في جامعة بنسلفانيا ، بما في ذلك عام في جامعة أكسفورد.

وهي معتمدة من قبل المجلس الأمريكي لعلم الأمراض في علم الأمراض التشريحي والسريري. وهي مؤلفة منشورة لمقالات متعددة ، وحصلت على موعد كأستاذ مساعد سريري في قسم علم الأمراض في كلية الطب بجامعة هوفسترا نورث شور- LIJ. يصل الدكتور روبنز إلى NUMC بعد أن أمضى الأربعة عشر عامًا السابقة كأخصائي أمراض في النظام الصحي North Shore-LIJ ، وكان آخرها رئيسًا لعلم الأمراض والخدمات المختبرية في مستشفى Glen Cove.

ترأس الدكتور روبنز عدة لجان ، وعمل في عدة لجان أخرى ، في مستشفى غلين كوف ، وفي قسم علم الأمراض في النظام الصحي North Shore-LIJ.

قسطنطين يوانو ، دكتوراه في الطب
طب النفس

حصل الدكتور يوانو على درجة الماجستير في الطب من كلية الطب بجامعة سانت جورج. أكمل تدريبًا في الطب الباطني في مستشفى ميثوديست في بروكلين ، ثم أكمل إقامته في الطب النفسي في جامعة ولاية نيويورك داونستيت. مكث في مستشفى كينجز كاونتي بدايةً بمنصب في برنامج فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية ، حيث كان مسؤولاً عن الخدمات النفسية والاجتماعية وكعضو هيئة تدريس في مركز تعليم وتدريب الإيدز. تولى سلسلة من المسؤوليات في مستشفى Kings County ضمن مجموعة متنوعة من خدمات الطب النفسي العام قبل الانتقال إلى Long Island ، حيث شغل منصب المدير الطبي لخدمات إساءة استخدام المواد في مستشفى Glen Cove. جاء في النهاية إلى NUMC ، حيث كان نائب رئيس الخدمات السريرية لقسم الطب النفسي حتى انتقاله إلى مستشفى جامعة ستوني بروك كمدير للتدريب المقيم للطب النفسي العام.

بالإضافة إلى عمله في الطب النفسي بالقطاع العام والعمل مع مجتمع SPMI ، فقد حافظ على اهتمامه بالعلاج النفسي الديناميكي وهو عضو في معهد CJ Jung وأكمل تدريبه في العلاج النفسي المتمركز حول المعنى. يقوم بتدريس كل من المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو وأطباء الأطباء النفسيين المقيمين في ستوني بروك. يشرف أيضًا على الأطباء النفسيين المقيمين في تقديم العلاج النفسي الموجه بالبصيرة والعلاج النفسي التعبيري الداعم. وهو أستاذ مساعد إكلينيكي في الطب النفسي في جامعة ستوني بروك وقد قدم في مجموعة متنوعة من المؤتمرات مع التركيز على الأخلاق والسياق التاريخي لنظام الصحة العقلية وتاريخ استخدام الأفيون في الولايات المتحدة.

ستيفن ليف ، دكتوراه في الطب
طب إشعاعي

الدكتور ستيفن ليف في الأصل من بروكلين وتخرج من جامعة برينستون ، وحصل على درجة البكالوريوس مع مرتبة الشرف مع مرتبة الشرف في الكيمياء. أكمل تدريبه في كلية الطب في كلية الطب بجبل سيناء في عام 1988 ؛ تليها سنة تدريب في الطب الباطني في مستشفى لينوكس هيل. وتابع لإكمال الإقامة في الأشعة التشخيصية في مركز بيت إسرائيل الطبي في نيويورك ، والزمالة في علم الأعصاب في كلية الطب في مركز نيو إنجلاند الطبي في جامعة تافتس في بوسطن.

انضم الدكتور ليف إلى المركز الطبي بجامعة ناسو (NUMC) في عام 1995 كمدير لعلم الأشعة العصبية. تمت ترقيته إلى رئيس قسم الأشعة في عام 2020 ، بعد أن شغل سابقًا منصب نائب الرئيس بالنيابة والرئيس بالنيابة للقسم. يحمل الدكتور ليف منصب أستاذ مشارك في الأشعة السريرية في مدرسة رينيسانس للطب في ستوني بروك.

يعمل الدكتور ليف في العديد من لجان NUMC ، بما في ذلك السلامة الإشعاعية والمعلوماتية. كان عضوًا متجولًا في الطاقم الطبي لـ NUMC من 2011 إلى 2012. كما أنه عضو في اللجنة التنفيذية لجمعية Long Island Radiological Society (LIRS) ، حيث شغل منصب رئيسها في عام 2018. شارك في قيادة الجودة برنامج لقسم الأشعة NUMC ونفذ مبادرات حيوية للسلامة ورعاية المرضى ، مثل تلك المتعلقة برعاية السكتة الدماغية والصدمات ، والتي تم تبنيها من قبل المؤسسة.

يلتزم الدكتور ليف بتدريب وتعليم الطلاب والمقيمين ويعمل كمدير للجنة الشؤون الأكاديمية ومدير دورة طب الأشعة للطلاب. لديه مجموعة واسعة من الاهتمامات البحثية. تقديم أكثر من 120 عرضًا وعروضًا شفهية واستلام العديد من الأوسمة. وهو المؤلف المنشور للعديد من المقالات التي تمت مراجعتها من قبل الأقران والمنشورات الإلكترونية ، وكان مراجع مجلة لكل من المجلة الأمريكية لطب الأشعة (AJNR) والمجلة البريطانية لطب الأشعة (BJR).

كما أنه فنان ومصور. يتمتع برفع الأثقال واللياقة البدنية والرياضات التحمل.

LD جورج أنجوس ، دكتوراه في الطب ، MPH ، FACS
جراحة عامة

دكتوراه في الطب جورج أنجوس MD ، MPH ، FACS هو خريج جامعة فوردهام. بعد دراساته الجامعية ، تابع مهنة الطب وتخرج من كلية ألبرت أينشتاين للطب. بعد كلية الطب ، أكمل الإقامة الجراحية في المركز الطبي اليهودي في لونغ آيلاند متبوعًا بزمالة رعاية / رعاية حرجة في معهد ماريلاند للخدمات الطبية الطارئة (مركز صدمة الصدمة) في بالتيمور ، ميريلاند.

وهو أستاذ مشارك في الجراحة في SUNY @ Stonybrook ، وكان مدير الصدمة في NUMC منذ عام 1996. وفي عام 1998 ، أسس مركز Long Island الجراحي لتخفيف الوزن في Long Island من أجل مساعدة أولئك الذين يعانون من السمنة المفرطة. أول برنامج شامل متعدد التخصصات من نوعه في لونغ آيلاند ، بينما يكمل درجة الماجستير في الصحة العامة في جامعة كولومبيا في السياسة الصحية والإدارة. وهو عضو في عدد من المنظمات المرموقة بما في ذلك الرابطة الشرقية لجراحة الصدمة (EAST) ، وجمعية طب الرعاية الحرجة (SCCM) وجمعية جراحة نيويورك ، وجمعية بروكلين الجراحية والكلية الأمريكية للجراحين. وهو أيضًا زميل في الكلية الأمريكية للجراحين وأعضاء هيئة التدريس في ATLS State ، بالإضافة إلى كونه عضوًا في اللجنة الاستشارية لحالات الصدمات في ولاية نيويورك (STAC).

يتمتع دكتور أنجوس بمهارة عالية في جميع جوانب الصدمة الحادة واختراق وإدارة المرضى المصابين بأمراض خطيرة وحصل على العديد من الجوائز والأوسمة عن عمله وإنجازاته. وقد تم تكريمه كبطل للرعاية الصحية في عام 2010 تقديراً لتفاني استثنائي والتزام ومساهمة في جودة الرعاية الصحية في لونغ آيلاند. كان مرشدًا لعدد كبير من المقيمين الجراحيين الذين يمارسون حاليًا الجراحة ؛ حصل على لقب المعلم المتميز في العديد من المناسبات من قبل المقيمين الجراحيين والمدرج في Marquis Who's Who in America في عام 2011. وقد تم نشره على نطاق واسع مع أكثر من 85 مقالة وفصول كتب تمت مراجعتها من قبل النظراء. شغل منصب نائب رئيس قسم الجراحة لعدد من السنوات وفي عام 2020 ، تولى منصب الرئيس الذي قاد قسمه إلى القرن الحادي والعشرين.

Department Chairs

Paul Weinberg, MD
Anesthesiology

Amgad N. Makaryus, MD, FACC, FACP, FASE, FSCCT
Cardiology

Dr. Amgad N. Makaryus completed medical school training at the State University of New York, Downstate Medical Center, in 2000. He went on to complete his Internal Medicine residency and cardiovascular fellowship at North Shore University Hospital in Manhasset, NY. Subspecialty training in cardiovascular imaging, including echocardiography, cardiac CT and cardiac MRI, was completed in 2006-2007 at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center in New York City.

Dr. Makaryus returned to North Shore University Hospital (NSUH) in 2007, and served as director of cardiac CT and MRI (2008-2012). He was also the director of the echocardiography laboratory at NSUH from 2009 to 2012. Board-certified in internal medicine and cardiology, Dr. Makaryus additionally received certification from the National Board of Echocardiography, Certification Board of Nuclear Cardiology, and Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography. He has also completed Level II training in cardiac MRI.

He is a founding member of the Society of Cardiovascular CT, a member of the American College of Cardiology, the American Heart Association, the American Society of Echocardiography, the North American Society of Cardiovascular Imaging, and the American College of Physicians. Dr. Makaryus has authored over 100 peer-reviewed publications and book chapters in the field of cardiology and cardiovascular imaging. His research interests include the ideal application and integration of cardiovascular imaging into the appropriate diagnosis and management of patients with and at risk for cardiovascular disease.

Eileen Chun, DDS
Dental Medicine & Oral Surgery

Anthony Boutin, MD, FACEP, FAAEM
Emergency Medicine

Anthony Boutin, M.D., board-certified in Emergency Medicine, completed his residency in emergency medicine at Long Island Jewish Medical Center, New Hyde Park, Long Island, NY. He has extensive clinical experiences as a staff physician in emergency medicine, and as an administrator involved with multiple hospital committees, in addition to resident and student teaching activities.

Dr. Boutin is active in Emergency Medical Services Pre-Hospital care as a member of Nassau Regional EMS Council and Medical Advisory Board. Since his arrival at Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC), Dr. Boutin has successfully supervised the inception, design and relocation of the emergency department, and improved emergency department operations flow and quality of care. Under the leadership of Dr. Boutin, NUMC has recently received the 2012 Press Ganey Top Improver Award – Patient Satisfaction in Emergency Department. In addition, NUMC has been awarded the AHA/ASA Gold Plus designation for Stroke for 2011 and 2012.

Dr. Boutin is an assistant professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Mount Sinai School of Medicine. Among his many associations, Dr. Boutin is medical director of the Nassau County Police Ambulance and the Nassau University Medical Center Ambulance Division. He is on the faculty of Long Island Jewish Medical Center Oral Board Review Course, and Mount Sinai Medical Center and Elmhurst Hospital Oral Board Review Course. He is also an ACLS/ATLS instructor.

Peter A. Guiney, DO, FACOFP
Family Medicine

Dr. Peter Guiney serves as director of the Family Medicine Residency Program and chairman of the newly created Department of Family Medicine at Nassau University Medical Center. He earned his medical degree at the New York College of Osteopathic Medicine (now New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine), and is a graduate of the University of Notre Dame.

Dr. Guiney completed his Family Medicine Residency at Peninsula Hospital Center. After completion of his residency training, he worked as an attending physician in the Peninsula Hospital Emergency Room for several years. He became director of the Family Practice Residency Program and director of Medical Education at Peninsula Hospital Center in the years following. He practiced privately in Ozone Park, Queens, for more than 20 years, and has served as medical director at Daytop Village Inc., a multinational drug rehab facility in Queens.

Dr. Guiney has practiced in the underserved community throughout his entire professional life. He remains committed to the training of family medicine doctors to address the current national physician shortage, and recruiting program graduates for ongoing primary care service in the NuHealth/LIFQHC Family Health Centers.

Paul Mustacchia, MD, FACP, MBA
Department of Medicine

Paul Mustacchia graduated from SUNY Buffalo School of Medicine. He completed his residency and fellowship training at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center in New York, New York. He is a board-certified Internist and Gastroenterologist. For the past 9 years, he has served as Chief Physician and Gastroenterology Fellowship Program Director at Nassau University Medical Center. He is also a member of the Internal Medicine Residency Leadership Committee Medical and Professional Affairs Committee, and Quality and Professional Affairs Committee at Nassau University Medical Center. For the past 5 years, he has served as Associate Chairman of Medicine, and for the past 3 years he has also served as President of the Medical Staff.

John Riggs, MD
Obstetrics/Gynecology & Interim Pediatric Chair

Dr. Riggs joined the Nassau University Medical Center in August 2015 as chairman of the OB/GYN department. He is originally from Haddonfield, in southern New Jersey. He attended Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., for undergraduate and medical school education, and completed his residency in OB/GYN at St. Barnabas Medical Center in Livingston, New Jersey. From 1989-1999, he worked with his father, Joseph, in private practice in Haddon Heights, New Jersey, where they specialized in advanced gynecologic surgery.

After his father/partner retired, Dr. Riggs moved to NYC and joined the staff of Wyckoff Heights Medical Center in Brooklyn. Over the next 15 years, he held multiple positions at Wyckoff: director of gynecology and urogynecology, director of the women’s health center, chairman of OB/GYN, President of the medical staff, and President of the medical board. He subsequently practiced for three years at Brooklyn Hospital in general OB/GYN. Dr. Riggs is currently clinical chair of OB/GYN at the American University in Antigua (AUA). He is also an active member of the American Medical Association, American College of OB/GYN, United Healthcare credentials committee, Georgetown University medical alumni board and board of governors. His interests include all sports, weightlifting and traveling.

Marcelle Morcos, MD
Ophthalmology

Marcelle M. Morcos, MD, FACS, is the chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology, and the director of the Residency Training program at Nassau University Medical Center. She also serves as the Director of Medical Student Education for the Department of Ophthalmology at NUMC.

An Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at the State University of New York School of Medicine at Stony Brook, Dr. Morcos is board-certified and a Fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, and a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. She graduated from Cairo University Medical School in Egypt, and completed her Ophthalmology Residency at Nassau University Medical Center in 1980.

Upon completion of her residency, Dr. Morcos developed a very successful practice in Queens, NY. She became the program director of Ophthalmology at NUMC in 1999, and was named the Chief of the Division of Ophthalmology in 2001. Under her leadership, this small division under the auspices of the Department of Surgery became an independent department in 2007, of which she is its first chairman. In 2011, the Department moved into a brand-new state-of-the-art Eye Center that serves well over 11,000 patients a year.

Dedicated to patient care and vision preservation, as well as medical education, Dr. Morcos has published numerous articles, and frequently presents at professional meetings. She has received numerous accolades on a national and international level, and has been mentioned among Americas Top Ophthalmologists by Consumers Research Council, and Who’s Who in Executive and Professional Women in Teaching and Education.

She was selected as Top Ophthalmologist in NY by the International Association of Healthcare Professionals in 2013.

Charles Ruotolo, MD
Orthopedics

Charles Ruotolo, M.D., graduated among the top of New York Medical College School of Medicine in 1995. He completed an orthopedic residency program at SUNY at Stony Brook in 2000. After his residency, he underwent fellowship training in sports medicine and shoulder surgery, at the prestigious Sports Clinic of Laguna Hills in California, under the tutelage of Wesley Nottage, MD. It is here where he perfected his advanced arthroscopic surgical skills.

Dr. Ruotolo is board-certified in orthopedic surgery, and is a fellow of the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons. As an Associate Master Instructor of Arthroscopy for the Arthroscopy Association of North America, Dr. Ruotolo actively teaches other orthopedic surgeons advanced arthroscopic skills in shoulder surgery. Named the top surgical student in his graduating medical-student class of 210 students, Dr. Ruotolo was named the attending of the year in 2003 for the orthopedic training program at SUNY at Stony Brook.

As an avid researcher, he has published multiple articles on shoulder injuries and shoulder surgery in the peer review journals of Arthroscopic Surgery, and of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery, as well as several book chapters on the same.

As the chairman of the Department of Orthopedics at Nassau University Medical Center, Dr. Ruotolo is helping to guide the hospital in its revival as a leading center for orthopedic surgery. He has developed a core group of highly skilled orthopedic surgeons at NUMC, providing some of the best care in orthopedic spine surgery, orthopedic trauma surgery, minimally invasive joint-replacement surgery, arthroscopic surgery and sports medicine.

Rachel Robbins, MD
Acting Chair, Pathology & Laboratory

Dr. Robbins earned her M.D. at Cornell University Medical School. She trained at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center, including a fellowship in Neuropathology. In addition, she completed fellowships in Surgical Pathology and Orthopedic Pathology at New York University School of Medicine, and the Hospital for Joint Diseases, respectively. She completed her undergraduate studies at the University of Pennsylvania, including a year at the University of Oxford.

She is board-certified by the American Board of Pathology in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology. She is a published author of multiple articles, and holds an appointment as Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Pathology at Hofstra University North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine. Dr. Robbins arrives at NUMC having spent the previous fourteen years as a pathologist in the North Shore-LIJ Health System, most recently as Chair of Pathology and Laboratory Services at Glen Cove Hospital.

Dr. Robbins chaired several committees, and served on several others, at Glen Cove Hospital, and in the Pathology Department of the North Shore-LIJ Health System.

Constantine Ioannou, MD
Psychiatry

Dr. Ioannou earned his M.D. degree from St. Georges University School of Medicine.  He completed an Internship in Internal Medicine at The Methodist Hospital in Brooklyn, and then completed his Residency in Psychiatry at SUNY-Downstate.  He stayed on at Kings County Hospital beginning with a position in the HIV Program, where he was in charge of the Psycho-social services and as a faculty member of the AIDS Education and Training Center.  He assumed a series of responsibilities at Kings County Hospital within a variety of Public Psychiatry services before moving to Long Island, where he held the position of Medical Director of Substance Abuse Services at Glen Cove Hospital.  He eventually came to NUMC, where he was Vice Chairman of Clinical Services for the Department of Psychiatry until moving to Stony Brook University Hospital as Director of Residency Training for General Psychiatry.

In addition to his work in Public Sector psychiatry and work with the SPMI population,  he has maintained his interest in psychodynamic psychotherapy and is a member of the CJ Jung Institute and has completed training in Meaning Centered Psychotherapy.  He teaches both Nassau University Medical Center and Stony Brook psychiatric residents.  He also supervises psychiatric residents in providing insight oriented psychotherapy and supportive expressive psychotherapy. He is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at Stony Brook University and has presented at a variety of conferences with a focus on Ethics, Historical Context of the Mental Health System and the History of Opiate Use in the United States.

Steven Lev, MD
Radiology

Dr. Steven Lev is originally from Brooklyn and graduated from Princeton University, earning an A.B. with cum laude honors in chemistry. He completed his medical school training at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in 1988; followed by an internship year in Internal Medicine at Lennox Hill Hospital. He went on to complete a Residency in Diagnostic Radiology at Beth Israel Medical Center in New York, and a Fellowship in Neuroradiology at New England Medical Center Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston.

Dr. Lev joined Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC) in 1995 as Director of Neuroradiology. He was promoted to Radiology Chairman in 2020, having previously served as Acting Vice-Chair and Acting-Chair for the department. Dr. Lev holds an appointment as Associate Professor of Clinical Radiology at the Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook.

Dr. Lev serves on several NUMC committees, including Radiation Safety and Informatics.  He was a member-at-large on the NUMC Medical Staff from 2011 to 2012. He is also on the executive committee of the Long Island Radiological Society (LIRS), where he functioned as its President in 2018. He co-leads the quality program for the NUMC Radiology Department and has implemented vital safety and patient care initiatives, such as those concerning stroke care and trauma, which have been adopted by the institution.

Dr. Lev is committed to student and Resident training and education and serves as both Director of the Academic Affairs Committee and Radiology Medical Student Course Director. He has an extensive range of research interests; presenting over 120 exhibits and oral presentations and receiving numerous accolades. He is the published author of multiple peer-reviewed articles and electronic publications and he has been a Journal Reviewer for both the American Journal of Radiology (AJNR) and the British Journal of Radiology (BJR).

He is also an artist and a photographer. He enjoys weightlifting, physical fitness and endurance sports.

L.D. George Angus, MD, MPH, FACS
Surgery

L.D. George Angus MD, MPH, FACS is a graduate of Fordham University. Following his undergraduate studies, he pursued a medical career and graduated from the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Following medical school, he completed a surgical residency at the Long Island Jewish medical Center followed by a trauma/ critical care fellowship at the Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services (Shock Trauma Center) in Baltimore, Maryland.

He is an Associate Professor of Surgery at SUNY @ Stonybrook and has been the Director of Trauma at NUMC since 1996. In 1998, he established the Long Island Surgical Weight reduction center on Long Island in order to assist those morbidly obese; the first comprehensive, multidisciplinary program of its kind on Long Island , while completing a Masters in Public Health at Columbia University in Health Policy and Management. He is a member of a number of prestigious organizations including the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma ( EAST), Society of Critical Care Medicine ( SCCM) and New York Surgical Society, Brooklyn Surgical Society and American College of Surgeons. He is also a fellow of the American College of Surgeons and an ATLS State faculty as well as a member of the NY State Trauma Advisory Committee (STAC).

Dr Angus is highly skilled in all aspects of blunt and penetrating trauma and the management of the critically ill and has received numerous awards and honors for his work and accomplishments. He has been honored as a health care Hero in 2010 in recognition of exceptional dedication, commitment and contribution to the quality of health care on Long Island. He has been a mentor to a vast number of surgical residents who are currently in the practice of surgery; named outstanding teacher on numerous occasions by his surgical residents and listed in Marquis Who’s Who in America in 2011. He is extensively published with over 85 peer reviewed articles and book chapters. He has been the Vice Chair of the department of surgery for a number of years and in 2020, assumed the Chairman’s position leading his department into the 21st century.