Pädiatrie

Pädiatrische Grundversorgung und Spezialkliniken

Wenn Ihr Kind krank ist, möchten Sie es bestmöglich betreuen, damit es sich besser fühlt. Das NuHealth-Team aus Kinderärzten, Kinderärzten und Krankenschwestern ist für Sie und Ihre Familie da. Unser neu eröffnetes pädiatrisches Grundversorgungszentrum liegt zentral und bietet viele Terminmöglichkeiten, unabhängig davon, ob Ihr Kind krank ist oder gut betreute Besuche benötigt.

Um einen Termin in unserem Primary Care Center zu vereinbaren, rufen Sie bitte (516) 486-NUMC (6862) an. Termine sind für eine gute Kinderbetreuung, Krankenbesuche und in den folgenden pädiatrischen Fachgebieten verfügbar:

 

  • Allergie & Immunologie
  • Autismus / Kinderentwicklung
  • Kardiologie
  • Endokrine / Gewichtskontrolle
  • Hämatologie & Onkologie
  • Infectious Disease
  • Nephrologie
  • Neurologie
  • Kardiologie
  • Chirurgie
  • Urologie

 

Pädiatrische stationäre Leistungen

Das Nassau University Medical Center bietet stationäre pädiatrische Versorgung in unserer Kinder-, Intensiv-, Neugeborenen- und Neugeborenenstation. Unser hochqualifiziertes Personal betreut Ihr Kind 24 Stunden am Tag, sieben Tage die Woche. Wir behandeln eine Reihe von pädiatrischen Erkrankungen, einschließlich medizinischer, chirurgischer und subspezialer Erkrankungen.

 

 

Unsere pädiatrische Fakultät und Mitarbeiter

 

Nachricht vom Vorsitzenden:

„Die Abteilung für Pädiatrie am Nassau University Medical Center möchte den Kindern unserer Gemeinde eine hervorragende medizinische Versorgung bieten. Wir sind bestrebt, Säuglingen, Kindern und Jugendlichen eine qualitativ hochwertige Gesundheitsversorgung zu bieten. Als eines der ältesten Ausbildungsprogramme für Kinderresidenzen wissen wir, wie wichtig es ist, qualifizierte Kinderärzte auszubilden. Unsere Bewohner lernen, familienorientierte Pflege mit einem kulturell diversifizierten Ansatz anzubieten. Wir möchten Einzelpersonen und Familien mit Freundlichkeit, Respekt und Großzügigkeit dienen. Wir glauben, dass alle Kinder das Recht haben, Zugang zu einer qualitativ hochwertigen Gesundheitsversorgung zu erhalten. Unsere Bewohner werden nicht nur dazu inspiriert, lebenslange Lernfähigkeiten zu bewahren, sondern auch dazu ermutigt, Gemeinschaften zu stärken, indem sie ihre Talente außerhalb der Medizin ausbauen.

Wir verbessern unsere klinischen und pädagogischen Programme weiter. Im letzten Jahr haben wir einen hochmodernen ambulanten Praxisbereich für Pädiatrie aufgebaut. Neue staatlich geprüfte Kinderärzte und pädiatrische Subspezialisten haben sich unserer Mission angeschlossen. Wir haben unsere Klinikstunden verlängert, um den Bedürfnissen unserer Gemeinde gerecht zu werden. Ich möchte Ihnen allen dafür danken, dass wir ein Teil Ihrer Familie sein dürfen. Helfen Sie uns, unsere Zukunft zu feiern, indem Sie unsere Kinder und zukünftigen Kinderärzte stärken und inspirieren. “

Dr. John Riggs, MD,
Interimsvorsitzender für Pädiatrie 
 
 

Unser Team engagierter Ärzte

Sehar Ejaz MD
Direktor für pädiatrische Endokrinologie
Programmdirektor
Dr. Ejaz ist Facharzt für Allgemeine Pädiatrie und Endokrinologie. Sie absolvierte ihr Stipendium für pädiatrische Endokrinologie am Stony Brook Children`s Hospital in New York. Sie hat Erfahrung in der Behandlung von pädiatrischen Patienten mit folgenden Erkrankungen:

  • Diabetes Mellitus
  • Wachstumsstörungen
  • Nebennierenerkrankungen
  • Schilddrüsenerkrankungen
  • Menstruationsstörungen / PCOS
  • Störungen des Glukosestoffwechsels
  • Hypophysenerkrankungen
  • Nebenschilddrüsenerkrankungen
  • Kalzium- / Knochenerkrankungen
  • Fettleibigkeit
  • Störungen der Geschlechtsidentität
  • Genitale
Harriet Boxer, MD,
Teilnahme, Neonatologie
Dr. Boxer ist Facharzt für Neugeborenen-Perinatale Medizin und Pädiatrie. Dr. Boxer besuchte die Medizinische Fakultät / Zahnmedizin der Universität Rochester in Rochester, New York, und absolvierte ihre Residency am New Yorker Presbyterianischen Krankenhaus / Columbia University, New York, New York, gefolgt von einem Stipendium am Long Island Jewish Medical Center im New Hyde Park, New York . Dr. Boxer behandelt seit Jahrzehnten die zerbrechlichsten Patienten und hat ihre Karriere der Behandlung der kranksten Neugeborenen gewidmet, während sie die Familien in dieser schwierigen Zeit unterstützt.
 

 

Constantinos Constantatos, MD
Teilnahme
Dr. Constantatos ist Facharzt für Pädiatrie. Er besuchte die St. Georges University Medical School. Dr. Constantatos absolvierte seine Residency am Nassau University Medical Center in Pediatrics. Er verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrung in der pädiatrischen Notfallmedizin sowie in der allgemeinen pädiatrischen Versorgung in der Gemeinde

 

Charles Coren, MD
Kinderchirurgie
Dr. Coren ist ein staatlich geprüfter Kinderchirurg. Er besuchte die medizinische Fakultät am University of Cincinnati College of Medicine in Cincinnati, Ohio, und das Residency Training in General Surgery an der New York University. Dr. Coren absolvierte sein Stipendium am SUNY Health Science Center in Brooklyn, Brooklyn, New York. Dr. Corens klinische Interessen und Fachkenntnisse umfassen die chirurgische Behandlung angeborener und erworbener Anomalien / Erkrankungen des Halses, der Brust, des Abdomens, des Anorektums und der Weichteile bei Kindern (Neugeborene bis Jugendliche im Alter von 17 Jahren), einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt auf:

  • Angeborene Anomalien der Speiseröhre
  • Nekrotisierende Enterokolitis
  • Leistenbruch
  • Hoden ohne Senkung
  • Appendizitis
  • Tumoren der Nieren, Nebennieren, des Magen-Darm-Trakts, der Lymphgefäße und der Weichteile
  • Minimalinvasive laparoskopische Chirurgie
  • Video-assistierte Thoraxchirurgie (VATS)
  • Vorgeburtliche Beratung
  • Neugeborenenchirurgie
  • Pädiatrisches Trauma
Micheline Dole, MD,
Teilnahme
Dr. Dole ist spezialisiert auf Allgemeine Pädiatrie und Kinderentwicklung. Sie besuchte die medizinische Fakultät der State University of Haiti und absolvierte ihre Residency am Interfaith Medical Center GME in Brooklyn, New York. Dr. Dole erhielt ihren Master in Public Health von der Johns Hopkins School of Public Health in Baltimore, Maryland.
 

 

Tran Huynh, MD Direktor
Pädiatrisches Ambulanzzentrum
Assistent des Programmdirektors
Dr. Huynh absolvierte das SUNY Downstate Medical Center in Brooklyn, New York. Er absolvierte sein Praktikum am Nassau University Medical Center in East Meadow, NY. Dr. Huynh ist Facharzt für Pädiatrie und aktiver BLS-, PALS- und ACLS-Anbieter.
 

 

Satish Kadakia, MD
Neurologie und pädiatrische Neurologie
Dr. Kadakia ist außerordentlicher Professor für klinische Neurologie an der SUNY Stony Brook und außerordentlicher klinischer außerordentlicher Professor für Medizin und Pädiatrie an der NYCOM. Dr. Kadakia ist außerdem Site Director für Neurologie-Ausbildung bei NUMC für Medizinstudenten von SUNY Stony Brook und AUC. Er ist Fellow des American College of Physicians und Fellow der American Academy of Pediatrics. Dr. Kadakia hat Erfahrung in der Behandlung von pädiatrischen Patienten mit folgenden Erkrankungen:

  • Epilepsie
  • Cerebralparese
  • Neuroentwicklungsstörungen
  • Kopfschmerzen
  • Anfallsleiden
  • ADHS
 

 

Abdul Khan, MD, Professor
Pädiatrischer Nephrologe
Dr. Khan ist ein staatlich geprüfter pädiatrischer Nephrologe, der sein Studium an der King Georges Medical College Universität in Lucknow, Indien, abgeschlossen hat. Er ist spezialisiert auf die Behandlung von Nierenerkrankungen, einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt auf Hydronephrose, Bluthochdruck, Nierendysplasie, Nephritis, Nephropathie, nephrotisches Syndrom, angeborene polyzystische Nierenerkrankung und Störungen des Kalziumstoffwechsels.
 

 

Sujatha Kosuri, MD
Pädiatrische Hämatologie / Onkologie
Dr. Kosuri ist spezialisiert auf pädiatrische Hämatologie / Onkologie. Sie besuchte die medizinische Fakultät am Andhra Medical College in Andhra Pradesh, Indien und absolvierte ihre Residency im Good Samaritan Hospital Medical Center in West Islip, New York. Dr. Kosuri absolvierte ihr Stipendium am Nassau University Medical Center in East Meadow, New York.
Chetna Kothari, MD
Teilnahme, Neonatologie
Dr. Kothari ist Facharzt für Neugeborenen-Perinatale Medizin und Allgemeine Pädiatrie. Sie besuchte die Medical School an der Universität von Nairobi, Nairobi. Dr. Kothari absolvierte ihre Residency und ihr Stipendium am Winthrop University Hospital in Mineola, New York. Dr. Kothari verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrung in der Behandlung und medizinischen Behandlung von Neugeborenen.
 

 

Mila Tempel, M.D.
Pädiatrischer Gastroenterologe
Dr. Tempel ist ein pädiatrischer Gastroenterologe, der Kinder mit allen Arten von Verdauungsproblemen behandelt. Sie erhielt ihren medizinischen Abschluss am New York College für Osteopathische Medizin und absolvierte ihre Ausbildung als Stipendiatin am Stony Brook Children's Hospital. Sie ist Fachärztin für Pädiatrie und pädiatrische Gastroenterologie. Dr. Tempel sieht Patienten mit einer Reihe von Verdauungskrankheiten, darunter:

  • Bauchschmerzen
  • Kolik
  • Verstopfung
  • Zöliakie
  • Morbus Crohn
  • Durchfall
  • Eosinophile Ösophagitis
  • Das Scheitern zu gedeihen
  • Fütterungsproblem
  • Lebensmittelallergie
  • Gastroösophagealer Reflux
  • Reizdarmsyndrom
  • Milchproteinallergie
  • Fettleibigkeit
  • Colitis ulcerosa
 

 

Rose Marie Young, MD, Direktor
Pädiatrische Allergie / Immunologie
Direktor & Vorsitzender CME
Dr. Young erhielt ihren MD vom Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Yeshiva Univ. 1980. Sie absolvierte eine Doppelausbildung in Medizin und Pädiatrie am Albany Medical Center und absolvierte ihr Stipendium für Allergie / Immunologie am Nationalen Jüdischen Zentrum für Immunologie und Atemwegsmedizin in Denver, CO. Derzeit ist sie Direktorin für Pädiatrie und Allergie / Immunologie Allergie / Immunologie am Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC) in East Meadow, New York und außerordentlicher Professor für klinische Pädiatrie an der State University von New York, Stony Brook. Derzeit ist sie Direktorin von CME bei NUMC, einem kürzlich akkreditierten Anbieter für medizinische Fortbildung. Dr. Young ist der Direktor der Klinik für pädiatrische Asthmaallergie bei NUMC, in der der Patient eine umfassende Bewertung, einen gründlichen physischen, relevanten Allergietest und ein umfassendes Behandlungsschema erhält. Sie hat Erfahrung in der Behandlung von Kindern mit folgenden Erkrankungen:

  • Asthma
  • Anaphylaxie / Angioödem
  • Allergische Rhinitis (allergische Nase)
  • Atopische Bindehautentzündung (allergische Augen)
  • Atopische Dermatitis (Ekzem)
  • Contact Dermatitis
  • Chronischer Husten
  • Nahrungsmittelallergien
  • Medikamentenallergie
  • Immunologische Störungen
  • Stechende Insektenallergien (Bienen, Wespenhornissen)
  • Urtikaria (Nesselsucht)
  • Wir bieten Allergie-Immuntherapie für Kinder ab 6 Jahren an
 

 

Rita Verma, MD
Direktor, Neonatologie
Dr. Verma ist Facharzt für Neugeborenen-Perinatale Medizin. Dr. Verma besuchte das Darbhanga Medical College der Bihar University in Indien und ihren Aufenthalt in Pädiatrie am Krankenhaus und der School of Medicine der State University of New York in Syracuse, New York, sowie ein Stipendium für neonatal-perinatale Medizin am Hospital and School der University of Illinois of Medicine, Chicago, IL. Dr. Verma ist Professorin für klinische Pädiatrie und Forschungsdirektorin. Dr. Verma ist spezialisiert auf die Behandlung von Mikropremien (Geburtsgewicht <1000 g), Atemnot und -versagen bei Neugeborenen, bronchopulmonale Dysplasie, anhaltende pulmonale Hypertonie bei Neugeborenen, mechanische Beatmung - konventionelle und hochfrequente, angeborene Herzerkrankungen, medizinische Behandlung von chirurgischen Eingriffen bei Neugeborenen Bedingungen, Flüssigkeits- und Elektrolytmanagement bei kranken Neugeborenen, Wiederbelebung von Neugeborenen, allgemeine Neonatologie und Beratung bei Feten mit hohem Risiko. Sie hat sowohl Grundlagenforschung als auch klinische Forschung in diesem Bereich durchgeführt und zahlreiche von Experten begutachtete wissenschaftliche Artikel in renommierten führenden nationalen und internationalen Fachzeitschriften verfasst und veröffentlicht. Sie ist Mitglied der Abteilung für Epidemiologie und Neonatologie der American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) und hat als Policy Reviewerin für die Komitees mitgewirkt, für die sie mehrfach von AAP Verdienstzertifikate erhalten hat.
 

 

 

Administrative Staff

 

Nadja Searchwell, MPA, MBA
Pädiatrie - Administrator
Tel: (516) 296-2232
E-Mail: nsearchw@numc.edu

Carla Vultaggio, RN, Pflegemanagerin
Pädiatrie-Pflegezentrum
Tel: (516) 296-2269
cvultagg@numc.edu

 

Links zu:

Primärversorgungszentrum
Residente Bildung

Pediatrics

Pediatric Primary Care and Specialty Clinics

When your child is sick, you want to provide them with the best care possible to help them feel better.  NuHealth’s team of pediatricians, pediatric specialists, and nurses are here for you and your family.   Our newly opened Pediatric Primary Care Center is centrally located and offers many appointment options whether your child is ill or needs well care visits.

To make an appointment in our Primary Care Center please call (516) 486-NUMC (6862).  Appointments are available for well child care, sick visits, and in the following pediatric specialties:

 

  • Allergy & Immunology
  • Autism/Child Development
  • Cardiology
  • Endocrine/Weight Management
  • Hematology & Oncology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Infectious Disease
  • Nephrology
  • Neurology
  • Cardiology
  • Surgery
  • Urology

 

Pediatric Inpatient Services

Nassau University Medical Center provides inpatient pediatric care in our Pediatric Unit, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit, Newborn, and Neonatal Unit.  Our highly skilled staff provides your child with care 24 hours a day, seven days a week.  We treat a range of pediatric conditions including medical, surgical and subspecialty diseases.

 

 

Our Pediatric Faculty And Staff

 

Message from Chair:

“The Department of Pediatrics at Nassau University Medical Center aims to provide outstanding medical care to the children of our community. We are dedicated to providing high quality health care to infants, children and adolescents. As one of the oldest pediatric residency training programs, we understand the importance of training qualified Pediatricians. Our residents learn to provide family-centered care with a culturally diversified approach. We aim to serve individuals and families with kindness, respect and generosity.  We believe all children have rights to access high quality health care. Our residents are not only inspired to maintain life-long learning skills but encouraged to strengthen communities by extending their talents outside of medicine.

We continue to make improvements in our clinical and educational programs. Over the last year, we have built a state of the art outpatient practice area for pediatrics. New board certified pediatricians and pediatric subspecialist have joined our mission. We have extended our clinic hours to accommodate our community’s need. I want to thank you all for allowing us to be a part of your family.  Help us celebrate our future by empowering and inspiring our children and future Pediatricians.”

 

 

Krishan Kumar, MD, FAAP, FACEP
Pediatric Chairman and Program Director
Professor of Pediatrics and Emergency Medicine,
NYIT College of Osteopathic Medicine, New York
Dr. Krishan Kumar is Chair and Program Director of Pediatrics. Dr. Kumar joined Nassau University Medical Center in 1990 and has served as Attending and Director of Pediatric Emergency Medicine. Dr. Kumar is a Diplomate of the American Board of Pediatrics and Pediatric Emergency Medicine and Board Qualified in Emergency Medical Services. He is also  Clinical Professor of Pediatrics and Emergency Medicine at the New York College of Osteopathic Medicine, NY.Dr. Kumar graduated from GSVM Medical College, India and has served the Pediatric population for decades.  His dedication to children’s health is evident through his global volunteer efforts and teaching. He has numerous publications in prestigious national and international Journals. Dr. Kumar serves as the Medical Director of Nassau County Fire Police EMS Academy to train critical care and paramedic EMT’s.
 

 

Nadeem Shabbir, M.D.; F.A.A.P.; F.A.C.P.
Associate Chair and Associate Program Director
Assistant Clinical Professor NYIT-COM
Dr. Shabbir is Board Certified in Pediatrics and Neurology with the Special Interest in Pediatric Neurology. He completed his pediatric residency at St. Luke’s-Roosevelt Hospital Center- Columbia University, New York, New York and Neurology Residency at Nassau University Medical Center. In addition he has extensive experience in pediatric emergency medicine. He specializes in treating pediatric patients with the condition such as following

  • Epilepsy
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Neurodevelopmental Disabilities
  • Headache
  • Seizure Disorder
  • ADHD
 

 

Reham Abdou, M.D., Director
Pediatric Gastroenterology
Dr. Abdou is Board Certified in general pediatrics and pediatric gastroenterology. She completed her fellowship in Pediatric Gastroenterology at the University of Buffalo in New York. She is experienced in treating pediatric patients with conditions such as the following:

  • Chronic abdominal pain
  • Constipation
  • Frequent vomiting
  • Chronic diarrhea
  • Irritable bowel syndrome
  • Gastroesophageal reflux disease
  • Eosinophilic esophagitis
  • Celiac disease
  • Difficulty feeding in infants
  • Failure to thrive
  • Obesity with risk of liver disease
  • Nonalcoholic fatty liver disease
  • Primary sclerosing cholangitis
  • Autoimmune hepatitis
  • Viral hepatitis
  • Inflammatory bowel disease
 

 

Harriet Boxer, M.D., Director
Division of Neonatology
Dr. Boxer is Board Certified in Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine and Pediatrics. Dr. Boxer attended the University of Rochester School of Medicine/Dentistry, Rochester New York and completed her Residency at New York Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University, New York, New York followed by a Fellowship at Long Island Jewish Medical Center, New Hyde Park NY. Dr. Boxer has been treating the most fragile of patients for decades and has dedicated her career to treating the sickest of newborns while supporting the families during this difficult period.
 

 

Peter Ciminera, M.D., Director
Pediatric Intensive Care Unit
Dr. Ciminera is Board Certified in Pediatrics and specializes in Pediatric Pulmonary Diseases and Intensive Care. He attended medical school at the University of Bologna, Italy and completed his Residency at Nassau University Medical Center, East Meadow New York. Dr. Ciminera completed his Fellowship training at Cooper University Hospital / Health System GME, Camden New Jersey.
 

 

Charles Coren, M.D.
Pediatric Surgery
Dr. Coren is a Board Certified Pediatric Surgeon. He attended medical school at University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, Cincinnati Ohio and Residency Training in General Surgery at New York Univeristy. Dr. Coren completed his Fellowship at SUNY Health Science Center at Brooklyn, Brooklyn, New York. Dr. Coren’s clinical interests and expertise include surgical management of congenital and acquired anomalies/diseases of the neck, chest, abdomen, anorectum, and soft tissues in children (newborns to adolescents aged 17 years), including, but not limited to:

  • Congenital anomalies of the esophagus
  • Necrotizing enterocolitis
  • Inguinal hernias
  • Undescended testes
  • Appendicitis
  • Tumors of the kidneys, adrenal glands, gastrointestinal tract, lymphatics, and soft tissues
  • Minimally invasive laparoscopic surgery
  • Video-assisted thoracic surgery (VATS)
  • Prenatal consultation
  • Neonatal surgery
  • Pediatric trauma
 

 

Micheline Dole, M.D., Interim Director
Pediatric Ambulatory Center
Dr. Dole specializes in General Pediatrics and Child Development. She attended medical school at the State University of Haiti and completed her Residency at Interfaith Medical Center GME, Brooklyn New York. Dr. Dole received her Master’s in Public Health from the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, Baltimore, Maryland.
 

 

Sehar Ejaz M.D.
Director of Pediatric Endocrinology
Dr. Ejaz is Board Certified in General Pediatrics and Endocrinology. She completed her fellowship in Pediatric Endocrinology at Stony Brook Children`s Hospital, New York. She is experienced in treating pediatric patients with following conditions:

  • Diabetes Mellitus
  • Growth disorders
  • Adrenal disorders
  • Thyroid disorders
  • Menstrual irregularities/PCOS
  • Glucose metabolism disorders
  • Pituitary disorders
  • Parathyroid diseases
  • Calcium/bone disorders
  • Obesity
  • Gender Identity Disorders
  • Ambiguous genitalia
 

 

Tran Huynh, M.D.
Attending
Dr. Huynh graduated from SUNY Downstate Medical Center, Brooklyn, New York. He completed his residency training at Nassau University Medical Center, East Meadow, NY.  Dr. Huynh is Board Certified in Pediatrics and an active BLS, PALS, and ACLS provider.
 

 

Satish Kadakia, M.D.
Chairman, Neurology and Pediatric Neurology
Dr. Kadakia is the Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology at SUNY Stony Brook and Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics at NYCOM. Dr. Kadakia is also the Site Director of Neurology education at NUMC for SUNY Stony Brook and AUC medical students.  He is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians and a Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics. Dr. Kadakia is experienced in treating pediatric patients with the following conditions:

  • Epilepsy
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Neurodevelopmental Disabilities
  • Headache
  • Seizure Disorder
  • ADHD
 

 

Abdul Khan, M.D., Professor
Pediatric Nephrologist
Dr. Khan is a Board Certified Pediatric Nephrologist who graduated from King Georges Medical College University of Lucknow, India. He specializes in the treatment of diseases of the kidney including but not limited to hydronephrosis, hypertension, kidney dysplasia, nephritis, nephropathy, nephrotic syndrome, congenital polycystic kidney disease and calcium metabolism disorders.
 

 

Sujatha Kosuri, M.D.
Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
Dr. Kosuri specializes in Pediatric Hematology/Oncology. She attended medical school at Andhra Medical College, Andhra Pradesh, India and completed her Residency at Good Samaritan Hospital Medical Center, West Islip, New York.  Dr. Kosuri completed her Fellowship at Nassau University Medical Center, East Meadow, New York.
 

 

Chetna Kothari, M.D.
Attending, Neonatology
Dr. Kothari is Board Certified in Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine and General Pediatrics. She attended Medical School at the University of Nairobi, Nairobi.  Dr. Kothari completed her Residency and Fellowship at Winthrop University Hospital, Mineola, New York.  Dr. Kothari has extensive experienced in the treatment and medical management of neonates.
 

 

Jack Levine, M.D., Director
Developmental & Behavioral Pediatrics
Dr. Levine is Board Certified in general pediatrics and Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics. He is the Director of the Center for Autism and has over 30 years of experience providing guidance to children with:

  • Autism
  • ADHD
  • Academic problems
  • Language delay
  • Developmental delay
  • Intellectual disability
  • Gross and fine motor delays
  • Developmental coordination disorder
  • Social-emotional delays
  • Sensory issues
  • Behavioral concerns
 

 

Rose Marie Young, M.D., Director
Pediatric Allergy/Immunology
Director & Chair CME
Dr Young received her M.D. from Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Yeshiva Univ. in 1980. Dual trained in Medicine and Pediatrics at Albany Medical Center, she completed her Allergy/Immunology fellowship at National Jewish Center of Immunology and Respiratory Medicine in Denver, CO. Boarded in Pediatrics and Allergy/Immunology, she is currently the Director of Pediatric Allergy/Immunology at Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC) in East Meadow, New York and Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics with State University of New York, Stony Brook.  Currently she is the director of CME at NUMC which recently became an Continuing Medical Education accredited provider.Dr Young is the Director of the Pediatric Asthma Allergy Care clinic at NUMC, where the patient will receive a extensive evaluation, a thorough physical, relevant allergy testing and be given a comprehensive treatment regimen. She has expertise in treating children with the following conditions:

  • Asthma
  • Anaphylaxis/angioedema
  • Allergic Rhinitis (allergic nose)
  • Atopic Conjunctivitis (allergic eyes)
  • Atopic Dermatitis (Eczema)
  • Contact Dermatitis
  • Chronic Cough
  • Food Allergies
  • Drug Allergies
  • Immunological disorders
  • Stinging insect allergies (Bees, Wasp Hornets)
  • Urticaria (Hives)
  • We offer allergy immunotherapy to children as young as 6 years of age
 

 

Rita Verma, M.D.
Attending, Neonatology
Director of Clinical Research
Dr. Verma is Board Certified in Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine. Dr. Verma attended Darbhanga Medical College, Bihar University, India, and her Residency in Pediatrics at the State University of New York Hospital and School of Medicine, Syracuse, NY, and Fellowship in Neonatal-perinatal Medicine at the University of Illinois Hospital and School of Medicine, Chicago, IL. Dr. Verma is a professor of Clinical Pediatrics and Director of Research.Dr. Verma specializes in the treatment of micropremies (birth weight < 1000 g), respiratory distress and failure in newborns, bronchopulmonary dysplasia, persistent pulmonary hypertension of newborn, mechanical ventilation – conventional and high frequency, congenital heart diseases, medical management of neonatal surgical conditions, fluids and electrolyte management of sick newborn infants, newborn resuscitation, general neonatology, and consultation for high risk fetuses. She has performed both basic and clinical research in this filed and has authored and published numerous peer reviewed scientific articles in well acclaimed leading national and international journals. She is a member of the epidemiology and neonatology sections of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and has contributed to the committees as a policy reviewer for which she was awarded merit certificates by AAP on several occasions.
 

 

 

Administrative Staff

 

Brittney Dorsa, Practice Manager
Pediatric Primary Care Center
Tel: (516) 296-2269
bdorsa@numc.edu

Anne Salvo, RN, Administrator
Department of Pediatrics and OBGYN
Tel : (516) 296-3395
asalvo@numc.edu

 

Links to:

Primary Care Center
Resident Education