机构审查委员会(IRB)

关于IRB

拿骚大学医学中心(NUMC)的拿骚医疗保健公司(NHCC)的机构审查委员会(IRB)是根据美国联邦卫生与公众服务部(HHS)颁布的45 CFR 46的规定设立的,出版于《联邦公报》 81 FR 732(2016)和《食品和药品管理条例》,21 CFR,第50-56部分,81 FR 732(2016)。

IRB任务

NHCC的IRB负责通过审查涉及人类受试者的研究项目来保护参与NUMC生物医学研究的人类受试者。 IRB委员会审查在保护研究对象的权利和福利方面起着重要作用。 IRB的目的是确保在IRB审查和批准后,所有研究均按照所有联邦,机构和道德准则进行。

由NHCC的IRB办公室审查后,由外部IRB处理资助的资助研究工作。 除任何外部IRB外,所有后续修改都必须由NHCC IRB进行审查。 NHCC IRB必须定期收到所有提交进度的摘要,包括结果,不良事件,意外问题和违规情况。 无法预料的问题,不良事件和违规行为必须立即通知NHCC IRB。 还必须将用于研究性药物或医疗设备的申请(包括扩展访问权限)提交给NHCC IRB,并遵守FDA规定。

研究

研究被定义为系统研究,包括研究开发,测试和评估,旨在发展或促进可推广的知识。 在NHCC进行的涉及人类受试者的所有研究都需要IRB的审查和批准。

研究类别

有些研究可能不受IRB审查。 IRB必须做出免除IRB审查的研究的决定。 因此,所有提交的研究(无论是否豁免)都应提交此确定。 在将研究提交为豁免研究时,研究人员必须确定可控制的适用豁免(参见45 CFR 46.101(b)(1)至(6))。

快速审查程序包括IRB主席或IRB成员根据45 CFR 46.110中规定的要求,由IRB主席或主席指定的一名或多名经验丰富的审稿人对涉及人类受试者的研究进行的评审。 IRB可以通过1 CFR 2授权的快速审查程序来审查(45)对人类受试者的危害不超过最小的研究活动,以及(46.110)仅涉及一个或多个适用HHS子类别中列出的程序的研究活动。和21 CFR 56.110。

所有涉及对受试者的风险大于最小风险的研究都需要全面的董事会审查。

无论IRB使用哪种类型的审查(加速或召集),均适用知情同意(或其放弃,变更或例外)的标准要求。

紧急情况批准

如果协议符合以下几个条件,则可以由主席或副主席/指定人在IRB批准后向IRB提供协议的紧急批准:协议用于生命危险的情况; 没有可用的标准可接受治疗,并且没有足够的时间获得IRB批准。 必须遵循FDA紧急使用程序和适当的IRB提交。

研究人员培训

计划参与该机构中任何人类研究活动的所有研究人员必须接受人类保护方面的培训。 所需的培训是“协作机构培训计划”(CITI)课程。 可以在以下位置访问CITI网页: https://www.citiprogram.org.

在启动任何研究活动和课程结业证书并与IRB一起提交给NHCC IRB之前,必须完成以下模块:

  • 诺斯韦尔健康中心(以前为北岸长岛犹太人健康系统)人体研究课程(必须每三年更新一次)
  • 利益冲突课程(必须每四年更新一次)。

会议时间表和截止日期

收到后,将对所有完成的协议进行审核。 完整的方案必须在预定的NHCC IRB委员会会议之前三周以最终形式提交。 会议通常在每个月的第二个星期三在拿骚大学医学中心的图书馆会议室A举行。 在截止日期之后收到的完整协议将在下次IRB会议上进行审查。

有关信息,请致电(516)572-6835与IRB代理主席Lynn A. Schaefer博士联系,以获取有关拟进行的人类研究的任何问题。

 

职员

Lynn A. Schaefer博士
代理主席

Institutional Review Board (IRB)

ABOUT THE IRB

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) of Nassau Health Care Corporation (NHCC) at Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC) was constituted under the provisions of 45 CFR 46, United States Department of Health & Human Services (HHS), Protection of Human Subjects as published in the Federal Register 81 FR 732 (2016) and Food and Drug Administration Regulations, 21 CFR, Parts 50-56, 81 FR 732 (2016).

IRB MISSION

NHCC’s IRB has the responsibility to protect human subjects involved in biomedical research at NUMC through its review of research projects that involve human subjects. The committee IRB review serves an important role in the protection of the rights and welfare of research subjects. The purpose of the IRB is to ensure that, upon IRB review and approval, all research is conducted in accordance with all federal, institutional and ethical guidelines.

Funded sponsored research submissions will be handled by external IRBs after review by NHCC’s Office of the IRB. All subsequent modifications must be reviewed by the NHCC IRB in addition to any external IRB.  The NHCC IRB must receive periodic summaries of the progress of all submissions, including results, adverse events, unanticipated problems, and noncompliance. Unanticipated problems, adverse events and noncompliance must be communicated to the NHCC IRB immediately. Applications for investigational drug or medical device use including expanded access must also be submitted to the NHCC IRB and follow FDA regulations.

RESEARCH

Research is defined as a systematic investigation, including research development, testing and evaluation, designed to develop or contribute to generalizable knowledge. All research involving human subjects conducted at NHCC requires IRB review and approval.

CATEGORIES OF RESEARCH

Some research may be exempt from IRB review. The decision to exempt a study from IRB review must be made by the IRB. Therefore, all research whether exempt or not should be submitted for this determination. When submitting a study as an exempt study, the researcher must identify the controlling applicable exemption (see 45 CFR 46.101 (b) (1) through (6)).

An expedited review procedure consists of a review of research involving human subjects by the IRB chairperson or by one or more experienced reviewers designated by the chairperson from among members of the IRB in accordance with the requirements set forth in 45 CFR 46.110.  Research activities that (1) present no more than minimal risk to human subjects, and (2) involve only procedures listed in one or more of the applicable HHS subcategories, may be reviewed by the IRB through the expedited review procedure authorized by 45 CFR 46.110 and 21 CFR 56.110.

Full board review is required for all research involving greater than minimal risk to subjects.

Standard requirements for informed consent (or its waiver, alteration, or exception) apply regardless of the type of review–expedited or convened–utilized by the IRB.

EMERGENCY APPROVAL

Emergency approval of a protocol may be provided by the Chair or Vice Chair/designee after approval by Counsel to the IRB if it meets several criteria:  it is to be used in a life-threatening situation; no standard acceptable treatment is available, and there is insufficient time to obtain IRB approval.  FDA Emergency use procedures and appropriate IRB submissions must be followed.

RESEARCHER  TRAINING

All researchers planning to be involved in any human subject research activities in this institution must be trained in human subjects’ protections. The required training is the Collaborative Institutional Training Initiative (CITI) course. The CITI webpage can be accessed at https://www.citiprogram.org.

The following modules must be completed before initiation of any research activities and course completion certificates submitted to the NHCC IRB with the IRB submission:

  • Northwell Health (formerly North Shore Long Island Jewish Health System) Human Subjects Research Course (must be renewed every three years)
  • Conflict of Interest Course (must be renewed every four years).

MEETING SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES

All completed protocols are reviewed as they are received. Completed protocols must be submitted in final form three weeks prior to the scheduled NHCC IRB Committee meeting. Meetings generally convene on the second Wednesday of each month in the Library Conference Room A at Nassau University Medical Center. Completed protocols received after the deadline will be reviewed at the following IRB meeting.

For information, please contact the Counsel to the Institutional Review Board (IRB), Karen G. Leslie, Esq at (516) 572-4754 or the Chairman of the IRB, Dr. Amgad Makaryus at (516) 296-4949 for any questions regarding intended human research.

 

STAFF

makryus Amgad N. Makaryus, MD
Chairman
research-leslie Karen G. Leslie, Esq.

Counsel to the Institutional Review Board (IRB)